2015 – A Year in Review

2015 was an exceedingly poor year for hiking but the one and only walk on Dartmoor helped make it a memeroble one.

2015 was an exceedingly poor year for hiking. However, the one and only walk on Dartmoor did help make it a memorable one.

There were a number of factors that conspired to make 2015 a poor year for hiking. The primary one being the lack of spare holiday due to an extended Christmas break and an additional holiday to the island of Crete.

This lack of a holiday allowance meant that I was determined to use what I had left for good walks in the best weather that I could plan for.

The first walk of the year was on Dartmoor and was a superb walk. This was to be followed by a walk in Spain’s Asturias region. I had been invited there by the Spanish Tourist Board, but it would be down to the number of places they had left as the walk was primarily aimed at Professional Journalists.

To that end I reserved some holiday for this walk in June, but alas, it became oversubscribed by Journalists, so I didn’t make it onto the final list.

With the Spanish trip cancelled I decided to target Tryfan in North Wales, but a combination of poor weather and my employer being unable to release me on numerous occasions, meant that this walk never happened either.

To complicate matters further, I had decided to go for a change of career into Web Development using the latest and greatest tech. Alas, to realise this dream, I would have to set aside holiday to ensure that I didn’t owe any when I left what is now my previous employer.

In the event, the job change went without a hitch, however, I couldn’t really go off hiking as I needed additional time at home to learn the new technologies that I would soon be immersing myself in. What little holiday I did have was ploughed into 2015’s Christmas Holidays.

For 2016 I’m in a much stronger position. I have a lot of holiday in hand due to my frugality of holiday usage over Christmas. In addition, from an employment front, I now work in a reasonably sized team of software developers. This means that getting released to go on hikes should now be a lot easier with less in the way of cancellations.

In terms of raw stats I managed:

  • 1 Multi-day solo hike over 6 days
  • 5 Nights spent in the Akto tent
  • A total of 113 km (70.21 miles) walked
  • A total of 3930 mtrs (12,893 ft) ascended

All stats are well down on the previous two years :/

2015’s Walking Diary

Dartmoor 2015

A view toward one of the few forested areas on the Moors. In this case, these trees surround the Burrator Reservoir.

A view toward one of the few forested areas on the Moors. In this case, these trees surround the Burrator Reservoir.

This walk was one blessed by great weather over the 6 days – something of a minor miracle for the UK!

The walk was planned to be a large circular one that would take me to many new areas of Dartmoor that I had yet to visit.

In direct contrast with much of the walk, the latter part of it would take me over a section of the route of my first ever Dartmoor walk in 2012 – though in reverse. This part of the walk brought back many good memories.

The full 113 km route with 3930 mtrs ascent and 3925 mtrs descent! Click for full-sized image, but beware - it's large!

The full 113 km route with 3930 mtrs ascent and 3925 mtrs descent! Click for full-sized image, but beware – it’s large!

https://ukbackpacker.wordpress.com/2015/04/01/the-first-walk-of-2015-is-ready/

https://ukbackpacker.wordpress.com/2015/04/03/ready-for-solo-dartmoor-51-day-walk/

https://ukbackpacker.wordpress.com/2015/04/09/back-from-solo-51-day-solo-dartmoor-walk/

https://ukbackpacker.wordpress.com/2015/04/15/dartmoor-april-2015-solo-51-day-walk-day-1/

https://ukbackpacker.wordpress.com/2015/04/22/dartmoor-april-2015-solo-51-day-walk-day-2/

https://ukbackpacker.wordpress.com/2015/04/30/dartmoor-april-2015-solo-51-day-walk-day-3-2/

https://ukbackpacker.wordpress.com/2015/05/21/dartmoor-april-2015-solo-51-day-walk-day-4/

https://ukbackpacker.wordpress.com/2015/05/28/dartmoor-april-2015-solo-51-day-walk-day-5/

https://ukbackpacker.wordpress.com/2015/06/04/dartmoor-april-2015-solo-51-day-walk-day-6/

2015 Equipment Changes

Unsurprisingly, there were no equipment changes for 2015!

Hopefully 2016 will be a much better year. I certainly have many shelved plans ready for use. The first of which will be a Dartmoor walk early in the year to get me match fit for what will follow!

Until then…

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Year Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2015 – A Year in Review

  1. treksandtors says:

    Good luck for the early walk on Dartmoor, lets hope the weather improves a smidge!! Fed up of this rain now. I’ve got The Lakes in February, a change to slightly colder weather would be most appreciated!!!

    • RobP says:

      Thanks – I think everyone is looking for a break in the rain. The Lakes got hit particularly badly too. Hopefully the weather will get all rained out and give us some more of the traditional cold weather 🙂

Leave a Reply

