The Final Pill…

The 3.3957 Km route with a rather modest 26 mtrs of elevation gain!

The 3.3957 km route with a rather modest 26 mtrs of elevation gain!

As some of you may know, I’m about to start a new job next week. This has resulted in today being my last ever lunch time training walk in the village of Pill.

It’s quite a sad occasion for me, as the walk had become a regular part of my daily working routine. From next week onwards I will need to find another route and another time – presumably after work.

During the walks I had found that I got to pick up and notice practically every little detail of the route. Seeing it time after time in all sorts of weather and conditions really does produce a kind of intangible bond between the walker and the place. A bond that I will sorely miss.

The primary aim of these walks was all about fitness, however, that was only a small part of what they did for me. They also formed an integral part of my ‘recharging’ mechanism. I’d always arrive back at the office with the majority of morning’s problems solved and a clear head ready for the afternoon. In all, rather invigorating!

The route is designed to be walked at my fastest practical walking pace, which for me is a little over 7 km per hour. It’s a fast pace, especially with the 2 kg boots and the 19 kg rucksack. It’s all designed to push my load carrying and aerobic capabilities to a level where it positively impacts my multi-day wilderness excursions.

When I first started this training I found it genuinely difficult and always used to arrive back in the office a broken man. But these days, I just arrive a little sweaty and that’s all. It has completely transformed my fitness, the results of which are very noticeable in the hills.

It is for this reason that I will make sure that I continue the tradition, even though it will be in a new locale.

Although this year has been a wash out for wilderness walks, these training walks have continued unabated and have run like clockwork throughout the year. So in theory my fitness should not have been impacted too badly.

I estimate that in total I have walked around 2390.57 km on this one short route! The result of which hasn’t been too kind to my training boots…

The regular fast training has really played havoc with my training boots. Here one can see the worn away heal section.

The regular fast training has really played havoc with my boots. Here one can see the worn away heal section.

A key part of the Pill walks is the 19 kg training pack. Hint - old geek books make excellent weights!

A key part of the Pill walks is the 19 kg training pack. Hint – old geek books make excellent weights!

The walk is quite scenic with lots to see. The 30 minutes I'm on it provide a great opportunity to recharge my batteries and to get the old brain whirling away on any software problems of the morning.

The walk is quite scenic with a lot to see. The 30 minutes that I’m on it provide a great opportunity to recharge and get the old brain whirling away!

Some parts of the walk even take me through some pseudo country like locations!

Some parts of the walk even take me through some pseudo country like locations!

Pill - I'm really going to miss the place.

Pill – I’m really going to miss the place.

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Day Walk, Pill and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Final Pill…

  1. A new walking route may just lead to a variety of new insights and discoveries. Good luck on the new job and finding a new daily walk.

  2. JohnBoy says:

    Good luck with the new job Rob. I went through a period when I was travelling a lot with work, and had to grab all sorts of strange opportunities for a training walk (city centres, parks, out from motorway service stations). It takes a bit more effort simply because you can’t just follow a set route day after day, but you get to see places you would never plan to.

    • RobP says:

      Thanks John 🙂 Putting in training walks in unfamilair locations does require a lot more effort, especially as you are normally at these places to do other things:

  3. J says:

    So right about the recharging – walking makes my brain work too.
    I like reading your reports and particularly enjoy the pictures of your wild pitches.
    Where are you moving to? Not too far from Bristol I hope, because it is a great place in itself and for access to excellent walking such as south wales and the south west.

Leave a Reply

