The Pin Dropped….

Still packed up and no where to go!

Still packed up and still no where to go!

…with a thunderous clamour….

Ok, I guess the point that I’m trying to make (pardon the pun), is that things have been rather quiet around here.

In terms of hiking expeditions, this year has proved to be a wash out. It is looking increasingly likely that the only hike of the year will have been the Dartmoor Circular routeΒ that I did in early April.

The year wasn’t planned out this way.

I had many plans to go hiking, but alas a multitude of factors conspired to keep me off the mountains. These ranged from a soon-to-happen job change, a lack of holidays, poor weather, family matters and not being able to be released from work.

Despite a poor showing for this year, I am feeling very positive for the next one.

The reason for this is that I now have many detailed plans and the supplies to just go off on an expedition at a moments notice. Some of the routes that I will be taking will be quite exciting too, though you will have to tune in next year to see what I get up to.

Speaking of routes and plans, Ordnance Survey has put an end to GetAMap – my favourite online planner and replaced it with OS Maps. OS Maps looks good, but is still at an embroyonic stage of development. As such it doesn’t provide the kind of functionality that I rely on to make my plans – at least not yet…

As a result, after a lot of research and trying out many demos, I have settled for Satmap’s Xpedition planner:

Satmap-Xpedition my new route planner!

Satmap-Xpedition my new route planner!

This planner is a dream to use. It is fully featured, very quick and even provides maps for mainland Europe…..

For those that are interested, just pop over toΒ http://www.satmap-xpedition.com. One can give it a trial run, to see if it fits one’s needs.

I should probably point out that I have no connection with Satmap whatsoever. The choice is purely a personal one.

Despite not being able to get out there, I have been keeping my fitness training going 4 days a week, every week. Although I am fit, I suspect the first hike of next year will prove to be an eye opener.

As such, I’m likely to plan the first walk of 2016 to be in Dartmoor, to ease me back into things. I’m also secretly hoping that it gets a lot of snow in January, so as to provide some good winter experience too.

That’s it for this year. I can only apologise for the lack of walks and posts, but I will more than make up for it next year.

In the meantime…

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Hiking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Pin Dropped….

  1. Jane says:

    Great to hear from you again, Rob. I know that feeling of planning and hoping and the weather and work doesn’t co-operate! As you’ve written though, you’ve got everything ready so you can do a spur of the moment trip when the opportunity arises. Good luck! I hope to read another blog post soon. πŸ™‚

  2. Robin says:

    Sometimes life conspires against us. Just roll with it and look forward to when you can get out next.

  3. JohnBoy says:

    Take consolation in the fact that no matter how much you get out in the hills, it never quite seems enough. Keep you’re fitness up over winter and it’ll all still be there waiting for you next year. What about sneaking in a couple of micro adventures over the next month or so? Just to get a night under canvas from the car makes life feel great even if you don’t have time for a weekend away.

  4. We’ll see you in Dartmoor!

Leave a Reply

