Back from Solo 5+1 day solo Dartmoor Walk!

Back from Dartmoor! The weather was superb!

Back from Dartmoor!

Just got back from what was effectively a 5.5 day walk around the wilderness of Dartmoor!

It seems that my timing was superb in that I had great weather throughout – a rarity in the UK – especially over a duration of 6 days!

There were no real navigation mistakes, the whole thing pretty much went like clockwork. I guess the great visibility had some part to play here. The full walked route can be viewed on the map below:

The full 113 km route with 3930 mtrs ascent and 3925 mtrs descent! Click for full-sized image, but beware - it's large!

The full 113 km route with 3930 mtrs ascent and 3925 mtrs descent! Click for full-sized image, but beware – it’s large!

During the walk I managed to visit 7 Trig Points (5 of them newly visited) and 27 Tors (17 of those newly visited). It amazes me that the more you think you know Dartmoor, the more it has to show you!

All the kit held up well, that is with the exception of my eBook reader which gave up the ghost on day 2. :/

This has got to be one of my favourite walks so far. The combination of weather, views and duration really made it for me. I have many great memories from this walk and was a little sad to leave the Moors during day 6. But all good things come to an end!

You will have to tune in over the next few weeks to read the detailed daily reports. In the meantime I will leave you with a picture of a sunset, complete with Dartmoor Pony! ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunset at the end of Day 2!

Sunset at the end of Day 2!

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Dartmoor, Hiking, Multi-Day Walk, Wild Camping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Back from Solo 5+1 day solo Dartmoor Walk!

  1. David says:

    Looking forward to your complete trip report. Hopefully we get the same weather in October when we tackle the ‘Bob Graham Round’. But we won’t run it, instead we plan to enjoy it over a period of 5 days ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Martin Rye says:

    Looks a nice big route. Look forward to reading about it.

  3. Looking forward to the details….and yes, you hit some glorious weather. We’ve enjoyed being outside tending to all things outside!

    • RobP says:

      Given that it is now raining again, it looks like a spot of perfect timing. I’m guessing your garden must be really kicking off now – will have to pop over to see that latest ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Things are starting in the garden, but we are definitely 5 degrees cooler than other parts of the area, and so a bit delayed. Yes, next time you are on Dartmoor, make a stop here. Glad you had such fabulous weather, makes a difference.

      • RobP says:

        I will include a visit on my next planned walk there, but I will probably have to send you a map first as that whole area is a warren of fencing and boundaries. It’s very difficult to tell from the map where there is physical access and where one is trespassing, it’s why I have tended to avoid that area of the Moors ๐Ÿ™‚

      • RobP says:

        I will include a visit on my next planned walk there, but I will probably have to send you a map first as that whole area is a warren of fencing and boundaries. It’s very difficult to tell from the map where there is physical access and where one is trespassing, it’s why I have tended to avoid that area of the Moors ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Jane says:

    Looking forward to your daily reports. I’m so glad you enjoyed your walk. The pics are lovely so far. Thanks. I also managed a walk over Easter, but with very different views!

  5. Pingback: The Pin Dropped…. | Uk Backpacker

  6. Pingback: 2015 – A Year in Review | Uk Backpacker

Leave a Reply

