The first walk of 2015 is ready!

Do you know where it is yet?

Do you know where it is yet?

Yup it’s Dartmoor!

The photo above is from my very first walk there in 2012 and is of Watern Tor. This was the walk where I came of age with regard to wild camping and multi-day hiking.

I intendΒ to do a 5 day walk there with an additional day tacked on to allow for plan changes. In all, I should be covering around 110 km whilst I’m there.

It was a bit of a faff to plan as the bus company I normally use to get to Okehampton had gone out of business last month! So a few phone calls later I managed to get my transport sorted out.

Some might be asking why Dartmoor? I thought you were headed to Wales?

That’s a good question. I arrived at Dartmoor through a combination of bad weather in March and some mapping issues.

The original plan this year was to start with North Wales. But the high winds put an end to that one. With the long Easter weekend coming up I had a backup Mid-Wales plan all ready to go, but when the maps arrived it turned out to be impractical due to new fencing in the area.

Next I considered the Lakes, but when I checked the many maps that I have, I’m missing the Eastern Lakes and my Western one is falling apart – I think the Winter Walk the previous year really battered it!

Scotland is out, because there is still lot of snow there and my kit isn’t really designed for snow – at least in the long term.

I had thought about doing North Wales again, but I have decided to schedule that in for June-July as a means of getting a great walk in, whilst avoiding the summer midges in Scotland – a destination that I intend to visit later on in the year.

There was no way I was going to stay indoors for the Easter holiday – so the only obvious choice left was Dartmoor – a destination that I absolutely love.

The walk is still a few days away yet, but the excitement is already building up! πŸ™‚

Here are some pictures from my previous Dartmoor walks to whet your appetite:

Wildcamping on the Northern Moors.

Wildcamping somewhere on the Northern Moors.

On the North Moors!

On the North Moors!

A stone circle on the Northern Moors!

An ancient stone circle on the Northern Moors!

Sunset over the Burrator reservoir.

Sunset over the Burrator reservoir.

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Camping, Dartmoor, Hiking, Multi-Day Walk, Wild Camping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The first walk of 2015 is ready!

  1. Jane says:

    One of my best friends grew up around Dartmoor so I’m really looking forward to your walk write-up. These photos are beautiful! Have a wonderful walk, Rob, and happy Easter. πŸ™‚

  2. hillplodder says:

    Enjoy. I may even bump into you as I’ll be on and around Dartmoor all next week.

  3. Robin says:

    I love Dartmoor. The only drawback is coordinating with the Army firing schedules.

    • RobP says:

      I think Dartmoor is the best wilderness area in England and as a bonus it is quite near to where I live πŸ™‚ Army firing’s are a pain. Luckily for this walk only one range will go live and only for one day. If things go according to plan I should be well clear πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: 2015 – A Year in Review | Uk Backpacker

Leave a Reply

