Thwarted Plans!

The last few weeks have been quite frustrating with regard to hiking. I was supposed to be out this weekend – but once again the weather has put the blinkers on things.

This will be the first year that I haven’t managed to get out for a hike before April :/

I was however relatively happy, as I had a 5 day walk planned for Mid-Wales on the Easter holidays. However, that too has run into issues….

Take a look at the map from Ordnance Survey’s Online planner application GetAMap:

Part of the original Mid-Wales walking plan on Ordnance Survey's online GetAMap application.

Part of the original Mid-Wales walking plan on Ordnance Survey’s online GetAMap application.

Now take a look at the paper map that arrived recently…

This is the same area as the GetAMap screenshot but on the recently arrived paper map. Spot the difference?

This is the same area as the GetAMap screenshot above….

Spot the difference?

Yup, it seems that a number of barriers have appeared. It’s difficult to tell what they are from the map, but they could be wire fences, stone walls or even hedges.

To make matters worse it now appears that the track I was due to cross is one that is surrounded by these barriers on either side, thus making the entry and exit of that track potentially quite difficult.

I’m actually quite miffed about this…

Firstly, it takes a fair investment in time to put a decent plan together. My expectation was that the online map would be as up to date as the paper maps – after all they are from the same company. But alas, this doesn’t seem to be the case.

It would seem that the paper map is dated 2014, whilst the online maps appear to be from 2012 – though I would need to get some clarification from Ordnance Survey about this.

The second issue I have is with regard to what would have happened if I was one of those hikers that printed off their own maps using the software? Had I done this, I would have arrived in area with no knowledge of these barriers blocking my route.

I could have quite easily ended up on a walk that would have had to be substantially re-planned on the fly (using an out of date map). Or in the very worse case scenario it could have resulted in the walk having to be terminated early.

Even if the barriers are climbable, it is not something I like to do, as that is the kind of behaviour that can give hikers a bad name with the land-owners.

My intent is to contact Ordnance Survey and ask them why there is a discrepancy between their online maps and their newly issued paper maps. Given that many hikers rely on their maps for safety, I think that this situation is wholly unacceptable.

Anyways, back to the planning table to see if I can get something together for the Easter weekend!

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Hiking, Multi-Day Walk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thwarted Plans!

  1. JohnBoy says:

    Rob, the fire breaks and tracks in the forests to the north and south appear to be missing from GetaMap too.

    • RobP says:

      Yes that’s true. I’m wondering whether I was just unlucky, or whether this is symptomatic of the current state of GetAMap as a whole.

  2. Jane says:

    Hi Rob. I’ve had my climbing/walking plans thwarted by weather and illness as well. It’s very frustrating to make plans every week and have to cancel them. I hope you get out soon! 🙂

  3. jake1963 says:

    That really is not acceptable. As you say, any user would expect the digital version to be the most up-to-date available at any time. As someone who works in an organisation similar to OS, we would be mortified if the digital version was not current.

  4. JohnBoy says:

    Are you planning a trip in Snowdonia over the Easter weekend Rob ? Saturday, Sunday and Monday looking a bit better now. Dry and only light wind. Views may be a bit obscured by early mist, but better than it looked earlier.

    • RobP says:

      Hi John, I have decided to move Snowdonia into June-July. I already have it planned and it includes a climb up Tryfan! 🙂 Instead, I’m going to be doing a 110km walk on Dartmoor over the weekend.

  5. RobP says:

    Ordnance Survey just got back to me about the maps issue….

    ‘Dear Rob

    Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I have checked and the paper version is the current correct one. It looks like the version in getamap is out of date and I have asked the technical team to address this as a matter of urgency.

    I hope this helps and sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

    Regards.’

    Looks like they are going to fix it!

Leave a Reply

