Blown Out!

All ready for adventure with no where to go :/

All ready for adventure with no where to go :/

Lunchtime today was the final decision window with regard to whether or not to proceed with the next walk.

A quick perusal of the Met Office mountain weather forecast revealed some rather high winds :/

40-50mph winds gusting up to 75mph.... Hmmmmm.... Guess not then.....

40-50mph winds gusting up to 75mph…. Hmmmmm…. Guess not then…..

I’ve been up in the mountains in high winds before. On that occasion I was blown off my feet twice – a remarkable achievement given the weight of the kit I was carrying. That was during a rather cold walk on the Black Mountains back in 2013.

The result of that walk was an injured wrist, followed by the quickest descent I could muster in the difficult conditions!

I can hike in a variety of poor weather, but high winds are arguably for me, the most dangerous.

It could be that I’m over-reacting, as it is hard to gauge when I’m the only one making the decision. I guess this explains why I’m currently second guessing myself as to whether I have made the correct decision.ย But in many ways it would be all too easy to green-light a walk in the name of bravado.

One thing for sure, I don’t want to be the one calling out Mountain Rescue because of a poor decision on may part. Besides the way I look at it, the Mountains will still be there for another day – it’s not like they are going anywhere!

There is a potential silver lining in that after a discussion that I had with JohnBoy over onย http://overthehillsblog.com, I think I will alter my plans and make an attempt on Tryfan – a mountain I’ve had my eyes on for a long time.

It’s now up to the weather and whether my employer will be able to release me in the near future.

btw: I can neither confirm nor deny that I was going to be climbing Moel-Siabod on this walk! ๐Ÿ™‚

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Camping, Hiking, Snowdonia, Wild Camping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Blown Out!

  1. Martin Rye says:

    It happens. A lot this year for me. Hang in till things improve.

    • RobP says:

      It’s disappointing when it happens – hopefully we will both get better weather! Looking forward to your TGO write up this year too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. jake1963 says:

    Discretion is the better part of valour. Remember that we go out there to enjoy ourselves, not to prove that we can endure excessively bad weather. BTW why is there food stacked on top of your pack?

    • RobP says:

      I live in the world’s smallest hovel, as a result I keep the food for a walk (except the cheese) on the rucksack. Gives me room in the food cupboards and ensures I don’t forget anything during packing ๐Ÿ™‚

      • jake1963 says:

        Oh right. I notice that you use Marvel skimmed milk powder. Have you tried Nido? You can find it in Asian supermarkets and, increasingly, mainstream supermarkets. It’s a full-fat dried milk powder and has a far better flavour than skimmed.

  3. JohnBoy says:

    Good call Rob. I’m in Snowdonia at the moment walking a couple of stretches of the coast for the weekend, and the wind is viscous and cold even at sea level. Really doesn’t look great for the next couple of days.

    • RobP says:

      You are the second person I have heard from that is currently in North Wales. It looks like it turned out to be a good decision, but I wish it wasn’t one I had to make!

  4. Jane says:

    I think you’re being wise, Rob. Emergency services have enough work cut out for them I think. It’s disappointing though when you have limited time for recreation. I have enough trouble staying upright with a full pack in normal conditions, let alone gales! I hope you get another chance soon.

Leave a Reply

