Kit Muster!!!

Whilst I’m waiting for the first walking slot to become available, I thought I’d do a post about the kit that I take with me on a typical multi-day hike.

Hiking kit is a very personal choice and helps colour the way one’s walks pan out.

Ask any hiker what kit you should take and you will get a myriad of answers. None of them wrong and all of them different. This post describes my personal preferences with regard to kit.

However, I do think that the one thing that fellow hikers do agree on, is that if you are going to proceed onto the hills, then make sure you take enough of the correct kit with you!

This blog post is divided into two sections:

  • Part 1 – Consists of a video where I describe a typical kit load out spread over three uTube videos. I got cut off on the first video so not all the kit is shown. For the full kit listing see Part 2 below.
  • Part 2 – An equipment list of my current loadout as of Feb 2015.

Equipment List:

Note: I haven’t included weights – but in total my average wet load out – that is with food and water – is between 14-20kg for 4-6 days in the wilds.

Hiking Kit

  • Osprey Exos 58 Rucksack
  • Large Dry Bag
  • Black Diamond Carbon Cork Hiking Poles
  • Mountain Warehouse Vacuum flask (not shown in video)
  • Petzl Myo Rxp Headlamp
  • Spare AA batteries
  • Spare Camera Batteries
  • 2 mtrs of parachord
  • LifeVenture Signalling Mirror
  • Lip Balm/sun block
  • Waterproof Matches
  • Insect Repellent (not shown in video)
  • Standard Matches
  • Life Systems Pocket First Aid Kit
  • Sun Spray Protection
  • Travel Tap Filtered Water Bottle
  • Platypus 1 ltr collapsable bottles x 2
  • Sea to Summit Pocket Trowel
  • Life Systems Plastic Whistle
  • Gerber Survival Knife
  • Plastic bag for rubbish
  • Toilet Roll
  • Sony DSC-HX9V Camera
  • BlackBerry Phone

Clothing

  • Arcteryx Beta LT Goretex Pro Jacket
  • RAB Aeon Top
  • RAB Atlas/Alpine Trousers
  • RAB PS Zip Top
  • Berghaus Deluge Trousers
  • RAB Neutrino Plus down jacket
  • Berghaus Wooly Hat
  • OR Sun Hat
  • Lower Alpine Mitts
  • Berghaus WindStopper Gloves
  • Ron Hill ThermoStretch Gloves
  • RAB Latok eVent Gaiters
  • Various hiking socks
  • Salomom 4d boots

Winter Kit

  • DMM Cirque Ice Axe
  • Pogu Micro-Spikes
  • Grivel G10 Crampons
  • Petzl Elios Helmet (not always used)

Camp Gear

  • JetBoil Sol Stove
  • Thermarest ProLite Sleeping Pad
  • Evernew Titanium Companion Cup (EBY265) – Replacement for Jetboil plastic bottom
  • Rab Neutrino Endurance Sleeping Bags 200,400,600
  • Kobo eBook Reader
  • Lifeventure Titanium Cup
  • Light my Fire Titanium Spork
  • Hilleberg Akto Solo Tent
  • Small Red Towel
  • Tenacious Tape for tent repair (Not shown in video)
  • 4 Plastic Clothes Pegs
  • Toothbrush + Toothpaste
  • Freeze Dried Food
  • Sponge

Navigation

  • Ordnance Survey 1:25000 Explorer series Map (I prefer 1:25000 scale as it shows boundary features)
  • Outdoor Designs Map Case
  • Suunto M3 Compass
  • Garmin 62s GPS
  • Casio Pro-Trek Watch

Hopefully some people out there will find this a useful post!

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Camping, Hiking, Kit, Video, Wild Camping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kit Muster!!!

  1. jake1963 says:

    Pretty similar to my kit. Is the 14-20kg ‘skin-out weight ( i.e. everything)? Only my rucksack rarely weighs more than 12kg, including a couple of days’ dehydrated food.

  2. RobP says:

    Yes, the 14-20kg is everything including water and food. It’s the weight I measure on the scales before I leave for a hike. In reality many of the items will be taken out and worn once I’m outdoors. In places with good water sources the 1 ltr platypus bottle will be emptied to save further weight.

    For an average 4+1 day walk it tends to start off at around 16kg then dip down to around 12kg by the end of the walk. Though in the summer I think I once managed to get the start weight down to a little over 13kg for 4+1 days in the field.

    I’m pretty sure most of my outdoor weight is the food. I do take a fair bit with me. I think on my last trip it worked out that I was carrying around 1kg of food per day – which I guess is a little OTT.

    I have only ever carried the full 20kg on two occasions. One is where I had vastly overpacked in the food department (I was carrying far too much Gorp). The other occasion was last year’s Lake District walk in the Winter. A lot of the additional weight came from the Ice Axe, Crampons, Micro Spikes and Helmet.

    I *should* be more weight conscious, but I’m quite used to carrying this kind of weight, so I have never really been driven to make it even lighter.

  3. JohnBoy says:

    Always interesting to see what others carry. There’s a fine line that’s easily crossed when lightening your load, and that’s weight vs comfort. If in doubt I veer towards comfort as it can make all the difference between enjoyment and misery. Looks like you do the same.
    I’ve watched a few videos of people’s kit squashed into nothing more than a bum bag……and I’m left wondering whether their hobby is actually backpacking, or the pursuit of the lightest possible pack at any cost and any amount of discomfort.

    • RobP says:

      I completely agree with you. The object of hiking is to have fun. For me, the wild camping part of the walks is an integral part of the experience.

      Many lightweight hikers view the camping aspect as a distraction from the actual task of walking. So as a result they really cut corners in this regard.

      I know that no matter how bad things get, I have the proven kit with me that will deliver.

      Old arguments about lumbering weight don’t really have much meaning for me as I am used to carrying these kind of loads. On most hikes I completely forget that I have a rucksack on!

      Even my Akto tent is viewed by many as an old anachronism. But it is really simple to put up, completely bomb proof and for me at least, has oodles of room for both my kit and myself. So why change it?

      • Robin says:

        The weight/comfort trade off is different for everyone. I tend to take more than SUL Spartans. My main extras are clothes. I like to have a change for the evening. I also veer on the side of excess when it comes to warm layers. Having experienced the first stages of hypothermia on a walk a while ago, I don’t intend to repeat the experience! It’s more relaxing to know that you have the gear to cope with any conditions. A base weight of 2.75kg doesn’t work for me http://www.zpacks.com/about.shtml

  4. RobP says:

    I too have experienced the first stages of hypothermia – that was last winter in the lakes when my hardhshell failed. I was only wearing one layer underneath and I didn’t fully appreciate what was happening until the involuntary shakes started. Nowadays for situations like that I wear at least two under layers that don’t absorb water, plus I can now more readily identify the onset.

    I agree about it being a lot more relaxing when you know you have the proper kit. For winter walks just packing the down jacket adds to a big feeling of confidence.

    That chap on your link kind of cheats in that his weights are the result of sharing the kit between two people. I simply wouldn’t feel comfortable taking what he does. But different people have different styles.

    To me, if you are used to carrying your kit, then there is no great need to reduce its weight.

Leave a Reply

