Ready for 3+1 days on Exmoor!

The kit for the Exmoor 3+1 day walk. In total it weighs in at 14.37 kg.

The kit for the Exmoor 3+1 day walk. In total it weighs in at 14.37 kg.

In order to avoid the dreaded midge in Scotland, I have decided that August’s walk would be nearer to home. I had thought of doing Dartmoor again, but I realised that I hadn’t actually ever been to Exmoor! Hence the choice of destination.

The walk is much nearer to civilisation than I would like, so may require some stealth camping, though I will have to make that decision on a day by day basis.

One difference between this walk and the others that I have done, is that it will be one of the first ones that will include a coast walk. If the weather holds out, this should provide a decent ending for the walk.

The kit has been mustered and packed. Overall weight is 14.37 kg which isn’t too bad for 3+1 days. I expect the final weight to drop to around 12 kg or so once the food has been consumed.

I do have concerns with two items of my kit. Namely the RAB eVent Bergen and the Salomon Boots. Both have leaked on me in the past, so I’m going to be very wary of their performance. In terms of their future, the expectation is to have both items of kit replaced in time for my September Cairngorms walk.

The kit I’m taking is my standard load out with the exception of the water bottle and gas canister…

In a first for me, I will be going on a walk without my trusty Travel Tap. Instead I will be taking a Water-To-Go filtered bottle that was kindly provided by Water-To-Go (http://www.watertogo.eu) for review purposes. I'm looking forward to putting it through its paces!

In a first for me, I will be going on a walk without my trusty Travel Tap. Instead I will be taking a Water-To-Go filtered bottle that was kindly provided by Water-To-Go (http://www.watertogo.eu) for review purposes. I’m looking forward to putting it through its paces!

Water-To-Go have very kindly sent me a sample bottle to test and review in the field. So for this walk I will be relying on their bottle for all my fresh water needs! Once I get back I will post an in depth review as to how the bottle performed.

For the gas canister I had to settle for a Primus one as my usual outdoors retailer had run out of JetBoil canisters. I didn’t think this was a problem until I started packing. It seems that the Primus canister is a tad taller than the JetBoil one as it does not fit within the stove for packing. As such, I’m having to carry it separately, which means wasted space in the rucksack.

Food-wise,  I am again taking a standard load out:

The food for the walk consisting of three dinners, three breakfasts, two lunches, plus assorted snacks for each day!

The food for the walk consisting of three dinners, three breakfasts, two lunches, plus assorted snacks for each day!

Three breakfasts consisting of:

  • Fruit Muesli
  • Cheese Wheel
  • Cup of Coffee
  • Scone

Two light lunches consisting of:

  • 5 x Oatcakes
  • Cheese Spread
  • Soup

Three evening meals consisting of:

  • One of: Chicken Korma, Chillie Con-Carne or Chicken Tikka large sized freeze dried meal
  • Cup of Hot chocolate
  • Cup of Coffee

In addition each day is supplemented by on-the-go food which consists of:

  • 4 x Nature Valley Cereal Bars
  • 2 x Sorreen Mini Banana Rolls
  • 2 x Sorreen Mini Malt Loaf

The above menu is a food load out that I have refined over many years that seems to suit my particular metabolism.

Each day's rations are then bagged prior to packing to make food management a lot easier in the field. This photo shows an entire day's rations, which include breakfast, lunch, snacks and an evening meal. The whole package weighs in at 972g which is about right as you should be aiming for around 1Kg of food a day.

Each day’s rations are then bagged prior to packing to make food management a lot easier in the field. This photo shows an entire day’s rations, which include breakfast, lunch, snacks and an evening meal. The whole package weighs in at 972g which is about right as you should be aiming for around 1Kg of food a day.

So that’s it for me, I will be off the grid until late Tuesday next week – have a good bank holiday folks! 🙂

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Camping, Exmoor, Food, Hiking, Kit, Multi-Day Walk, Wild Camping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ready for 3+1 days on Exmoor!

  1. Pingback: Year in Review 2014 | Uk Backpacker

Leave a Reply

