Ready for a 1+1 day solo hike to Ben Nevis!

The kit for the 1+1 walk up Ben Nevis. The whole lot, including poles weighs in at a paltry 13.3kg - a much lighter load than I'm used to!

The kit for the 1+1 walk up Ben Nevis. The whole lot, including poles, weighs in at a paltry 13.3kg – a much lighter load than I’m used to!

Once again the excitement is building as I prepare for a 1 + 1 day walk up Ben Nevis – the Uk’s highest Mountain.

It will be a bit of an odd trip due to logistics and train times.

I will get there very late on Saturday night, which will result in a 7 km night walk – the first time I have started off a walk at night! This night walk should place me at the base of the mountains ready for day 2.

The following day will be a more conventional one, but due to the lack of trains, I will have to camp overnight on that day so as to make the Monday morning train.

In actuality, the only full day of hiking will be on day 2, days 1 and 3 will barely total up to half a day between them!

If things go to plan I will once again beat my own elevation record and this time the only way to go higher will be to travel to foreign climbs! (pardon the pun)

Kit wise I’m taking my usual kit, but as it is Summer, there is a lot less to carry and what I am carrying – like the sleeping bag – tend to be a lot lighter than their Winter counterparts. The end result is a very light 13.3 kg kit load – the lightest I have carried for a very long time!

There is one big difference though….

For the first time ever, I will be taking walking poles.

I have heard many good things about them from so many people, but had never got around to investing in a set.

Luckily for me, Mountain Warehouse at http://mountainwarehouse.com provided me with a free set of walking poles on the proviso that I review them. Thanks Guys! Really looking forward to seeing how these pan out!

Hiking poles - a first for me - kindly provided by Mountain Warehouse (http://www.mountainwarehouse.com)

Walking poles – a first for me – kindly provided by Mountain Warehouse (http://www.mountainwarehouse.com)

Food wise there isn’t too much to carry. In fact I can fit all of the snacks in the ready-use, hip-belt pockets – a first for a walk!

The food for the trip. Not much really. Two evening meals, two breakfasts, one lunch and some snacks mainly for day 2.

The food for the trip. Not much really. Two evening meals, two breakfasts, one lunch and some snacks mainly for day 2.

All packed and ready to go for my second excursion North of the border!

All packed and ready to go for my second excursion North of the border!

It’s now just a case of briefing my safety number then getting a good night’s sleep ready for 3 days of fun!

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Ben Nevis, Hiking, Kit, Wild Camping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ready for a 1+1 day solo hike to Ben Nevis!

  1. Robin says:

    Hope you have a good time.

  2. RobP says:

    Thanks Robin. Will be posting an update today. It was a great few days out, despite the midges!

  3. Pingback: Year in Review 2014 | Uk Backpacker

Leave a Reply

