Ready for 4+1 days in the Southern Cairngorms Scotland!

The kit I'm taking to Scotland. The whole lot weighs in at 17 kg, including food and water - which isn't too bad for 4 + 1 days out and about!

The kit I’m taking to Scotland. The whole lot weighs in at 17 kg, including food and water – which isn’t too bad for 4 + 1 days out and about!

Martin Rye from http://martinrye.wordpress.com/ once told me to ‘Go and find Scotland’ – well here I am! 😀

All the kit has now been mustered and made ready for my first jaunt North of the border.

I will be exploring the Southern reaches of the massive Cairngorm National Park. The trip is scheduled as a 4+1 day walk, with the last day effectively being a spare day.

The kit weight isn’t too bad at 17 kg, especially when one considers this is the maximum weight with everything carried. In reality some items will be taken out to be worn. In addition to this, the food weighs in at around 1 kg a day, so the expectation is that the rucksack will weigh in at around 12 kg by the end of the walk – which is very light for me!

*Excited* All packed and ready to go!

*Excited* All packed and ready to go!

In terms of new kit not much has changed. I’m pretty sure that for the style of walking that I do, I have pretty much nailed my kit now. The only real worry is whether the hard shell reproofing will make it waterproof again. If not, I’ll live and learn and buy a new hardshell for the next outing.

The new stuff! Not too much has changed from my previous walk. The above includes: Salomon 4d boots, a RAB PS Zip top to replace the fleece, a new OR sun hat, spare Tenacious tape and a small bottle of insect repellent.

The new stuff! Not too much has changed from my previous walk. The above includes: Salomon 4d boots, a RAB PS Zip top to replace the fleece, a new OR sun hat, spare Tenacious tape and a small bottle of insect repellent.

The two biggest kit changes are the Salomon boots and the RAB PS Zip top. Both weigh in at around half the weight of the kit that they replace. I’m expecting good things from the boots, especially in terms of extended endurance, but we will see.

The RAB PS Zip is made of a material called ‘Stretch PolarTech’. It is supposed to be a very good material for keeping one warm, but I have yet to test it in the field. This is why I have also decided to take the goose down jacket, even though I suspect that it won’t get used.

In terms of preparation, the big item on the list was fixing the hole that I put in the tent during the Dartmoor walk last year.

On the recommendation of Robin  over at http://blogpackinglight.wordpress.com/ I bought some Tenacious tape and have to say that I was surprised at how well it stuck to the tent!

A Tenacious Tape being used to repair the small hole on the Akto tent.

A Tenacious Tape being used to repair the small hole on the Akto tent.

Foodwise I’m mostly taking my usual mix as can be seen below:

Five days rations including 4 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 4 suppers and ancillary food to eat whilst walking around.

Five days rations including 4 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 4 suppers and ancillary food to eat whilst walking around.

The big departure is breakfast. For the first time I have replaced the porridge with Muesli. Muesli can be made hot or cold, thus providing additional flexibility. Plus as an added bonus I prefer muesli over porridge! 🙂

The same rations bagged up. Day 1's snacks are not shown as they are packed into the belt pockets of the rucksack ready for use.

The same rations bagged up. Day 1’s snacks are not shown as they are packed into the belt pockets of the rucksack ready for use.

As usual I bag the rations by day and meal. This makes it easy to allocate the day’s rations in the morning for the up and coming day. I’ll have to write a separate blog article on food, to explain what I use, how I pack it and how I manage it.

Well that’s it for me – I’m off to bed as I have a very early start tomorrow morning!

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Cairngorms, Camping, Food, Hiking, Kit, Multi-Day Walk, Wild Camping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ready for 4+1 days in the Southern Cairngorms Scotland!

  1. JohnBoy says:

    Have a great trip Rob. I’ll be heading up north on Thursday to start the TGO from Strathcarron, then back up again in June for a week on the Isle of Islay. Can’t get enough of Scotland.

    • RobP says:

      Thanks John. I wish I could join you guys on the TGO, but I want to put in another year under my belt first 🙂

      Good luck with your walk – I’m looking forward to reading all the reports!

  2. JohnBoy says:

    p.s. have you packed your midge net, I hear they’re out already.

    • RobP says:

      No net, but for a first time I have packed insect repellent. I guess I will have to get acquainted with Scotland’s dreaded midge at some point – so it may as well be now 🙂

  3. Martin Rye says:

    Enjoy it Rob. I’m up there in June. Midges will be out.

  4. Pingback: Year in Review 2014 | Uk Backpacker

Leave a Reply

