Ready for 4+2 days in the Lake District!

The traditional kit muster to make sure everything is there!

The traditional kit muster to make sure everything is there!

The excitement levels are now sky high! The kit has been mustered and packed for 4+2 days in the wilds of the Lake District.

I am expecting snow so have packed accordingly. Total rucksack weight is 20kg which I don’t think is too bad for full winter and snow kit for 4+2 days. It appears that once again I will be asking a lot of my lightweight Osprey Exos pack.

A lot of this weight is food, around 1kg a day, so the expectation is by the time day 6 arrives, the pack weight should be down to around a more reasonable 14 kg.

The food for the trip. Five main meals, four lunches and five breakfasts. An additional snack allowance for the day is four Nature Valley Bars, Two Mini Banana Loaves and Two FlapJacks.

The food for the trip. Five main meals, four lunches and five breakfasts. An additional snack allowance for the day is four Nature Valley Bars, Two Mini Banana Loaves and Two FlapJacks.

To keep the fuel burn to a minimum, I have opted back to Mountain House meals rather than Fuizion. With Mountain House I can order double sized pouches and cook them in one hit, rather than having to cook two separate meals. As an added bonus, I also had some spare Mountain House meals left over from a cancelled walk last year, which reduced the overall immediate cost of this walk!

Speaking of fuel, this is the first time I am going out with a half full gas canister. As a backup, I do also have a smaller gas canister that is full of fuel should the main one run out, but this is an unlikely scenario.

All packed! The total load is 20 kg exactly - the same as the initial load I took to Snowdonia. I guess that's not too bad for 4+2 day in the wilds with full winter snow kit.

All packed! The total load is 20 kg exactly – the same as the initial load I took to Snowdonia. I guess that’s not too bad for 4+2 days in the wilds with full winter snow kit.

The rucksack is positively overflowing, though it will be relieved somewhat when the walk starts, as some of the kit will likely be taken out to be worn.

That’s it, I will be off the grid for six days of well earnt relaxation! πŸ™‚

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Camping, Hiking, Kit, Lake District, Multi-Day Walk, Wild Camping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ready for 4+2 days in the Lake District!

  1. Pingback: Year in Review 2014 | Uk Backpacker

Leave a Reply

