Whether the weather be fine, Whether the weather be not…

The Met Office weather forecast for the Lake District.

The Met Office hill walking weather forecast for the Lake District.

‘Whether the weather be fine,

Whether the weather be not,

Whether the weather,

Whatever the weather,

Whether it be sunny or not!’

This was an old tongue twister I picked up whilst at school. Over the last few weeks it seems to have bubbled up to the surface in my mind, completely out of no where!

For those that don’t know, Britain has been gripped by one storm after another this year. It’s caused extensive flooding, damage and unfortunately some untimely deaths.

However, the medium range weather forecasts seemed to indicate that I could make a viable 6 day walk in the Lake District starting this Saturday. But alas, my hopes were dashed after reviewing the Met Office website and seeing the above page. It was with a heavy heart that I made the decision to postpone this walk.

The thought of negotiating blizzard conditions at over 300 metres elevation, which as it happens is most of my planned route, seemed a little unsavoury, especially as I have no winter skills training.

On top of that, the final nail in the coffin was the news that the Amazon ‘Express Delivery’ of a pair of ‘Pogu mini-trail crampons’ would in fact not be delivered on Friday as planned.

Without this essential piece of kit – Thanks Martin Rye over atΒ http://www.summitandvalley.com/ for the recommendation πŸ™‚ – I have decided that to proceed to the Lakes without them would be irresponsible given the likelihood of extensive ice.

The good news is that the delay will enable me to get my mitts on an ice axe, crampons, goggles and snow shovel for the next scheduled date.

I’m hoping the weather will be better then, but I’m also hoping that there will still be some snow about! πŸ™‚

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Hiking, Lake District and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Whether the weather be fine, Whether the weather be not…

  1. Ohh you are going to gt your snow hiking on! Good Luck, I hope you get everything on time for your next attempt!

    • RobP says:

      I hope it comes together too. The next walk isn’t very technical, but the slopes I will be traversing will need this kit to stay on the safe side. I have also ordered a book that will give me some firm grounding on the base skills – though I obviously know this isn’t a substitute for training.

      I am kind of excited at the prospect of walking in the snow – just have to hope there is some left on the next scheduled date!

  2. Martin Rye says:

    Why not book on a short winter training course in the Lakes to learn ice axe and crampons use when you go. Up-skill and enjoy the white stuff.

  3. RobP says:

    I might do that. Have been watching many videos and have a book on order. My route there isn’t that technical, but the slopes will be steep enough, and safe enough to get practical experience of ice axe arresting.

    Going to have to have a look-see though and see what courses are on offer πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

