Back from Dartmoor!

Sunset on day 2 as I start to approach Great Mis Tor and head out of the Army Firing ranges.

Sunset on day 2 as I start to approach Great Mis Tor and head out of the Army Firing ranges.

Just got back from my solo 4+1 day walk. In reality, day 1 and day 5 were just filler days – one to get onto the moors, the other to exit the moors. The majority of the walking took place on days 2-4.

The overall 73.2km walked route. It featured 2389 mtrs ascent and 2283 mtrs descent. The weather varied from rain with fog, to some pretty good weather!

The overall 73.2km walked route. It featured 2389 mtrs ascent and 2283 mtrs descent. The weather varied from rain with fog, to some pretty good weather!

This trip had everything weather wise. On the North Moors it started off wind swept, with rain and fog. It meant that I needed to concentrate on navigation to ensure that I was headed the right way!

By the end of day 2 the weather had improved considerably. It was still cold, but at least I could see the sun. Well, occasionally at least!

What surprised me about the walk was the difference terrain makes to the speed of travel. On the North Moors over tussocks and bog, progress was relatively slow and difficult. But once I got to the 2 Moors Way on the Southern Moor my speed picked up considerably. In fact it was so fast that I ended up at my target location 2 hours earlier than predicted!

Each day was a race against the Sun. With so few daylight hours available I had to make sure that I had broken camp by 0900 at the very latest. From then on, each day was a race to the target location before it got dark.

Over the next few weeks I will publish my usual detailed daily accounts.

Until then…

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Camping, Dartmoor, Hiking, Multi-Day Walk, Wild Camping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Back from Dartmoor!

  1. Nice looking trip. Looking forward to reading the detailed account. I’ve hiked and camped a lot on Dartmoor and one thing I’ve always found guaranteed – wet feet!

  2. Robin says:

    Look forward to reading about it.

  3. Liz M says:

    The north moor is hard going but majestic, I believe 10 Tors folk call the 2 moors way ‘the motorway’! Looking forward to pics

    • RobP says:

      That’s an apt name for it. Walking speed was very quick on it – at least compared to the Northern Moor. I still think the 10 Tors Folk are completely nuts though ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Pingback: 2013 – A Year in Review | Uk Backpacker

Leave a Reply

