Ready for 4+1 days on Dartmoor! :)

Five days of kit!

Five days of kit!

Finally the day has arrived to start packing for the 4+1 day jaunt on Dartmoor tomorrow. Once again the butterflies of excitement are doing their thing!

I’m very surprised at the rucksack weight, as it is weighing in at a surprisingly light 16.7kg. That’s for 4+1 days in the wilds with Winter Kit! That has to be a record for me! As an added bonus, the rucksack will just keep getting lighter as the days go by.

Compared to my previous Snowdonia trip where I had started with around 20kg, that’s an instant weight saving of around 3kg.

At first I thought I may have forgotten something, but this isn’t the case. It seems the main contributing factor to the lighter weight is a much more realistic food load.

Five days of food rations!

Five days of food rations!

The Gorp is gone for this trip, I will be solely relying on Nature Valley Bars, FlapJacks and Soreen Banana Fruit Loaves for the on-the-move snacking.

The menu for each full day is:

Breakfast
1 x Fruit Porridge premixed with powdered milk
1 x Fruit Scone
1 x Cheese Wheel
1 x Coffee

Lunch
6 x OatCakes
2 x Salami slices
2 x Chorizo slices
1 x Cured Ham slice
1 x Primula Cheese
1 x Random Soup

Evening Meal
2 x Random Fuizion Meals
1 x Hot Chocolate

Snacking Food
4 x Nature Valley Bars (Various)
2 x Chocolate Flapjacks (wanted black-current but these were not available :/)
2 x Soreen Banana Fruit Loaves

Given that the first and last days are short ones, I am anticipating some spare supplies, even with this load out.

Other equipment changes are a new map-case.

This map-case lasted just two trips :/

This map-case lasted just two trips :/

It seems that map-cases never last very long with me – they always break along their velcro seals. This time around I have bought a much sturdier case, which I hope will last more than the two trips that the previous one had lasted for.

Some more kit changes. Notably, a new sturdier map-case to replace the previous broken one and some fingerless gloves with over-mitts!

Some more kit changes. Notably, a new sturdier map-case to replace the previous broken one and some fingerless gloves with over-mitts!

Also along for the ride are a pair of finger-less gloves with over-mitts. I bought these as I like the tactile feedback of my fingers when using kit, but on the other hand (pardon the pun) I also like keeping them warm. So these gloves/mitts seem like a great compromise!

All packed up and ready to go!

All packed up and ready to go!

Other than a few minor last minute things I have to attend to, everything is green for tomorrow. I can’t wait, almost 5 days away from civilisation!

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Dartmoor, Food, Hiking, Kit, Multi-Day Walk, Rab, Wild Camping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ready for 4+1 days on Dartmoor! :)

  1. twohungry13 says:

    Rob enjoy your trip!! Glad to see we aren’t the only ones who obsess over packing each day’s food individually, I was beginning to think maybe I had an OCD issue! Also love to see an Osprey pack on the loose; have fun, be safe, stay warm!

    • RobP says:

      I always pack individual daily rations. It helps with keeping track with food usage and allocating the day’s food to the proper places on the rucksack. In my case the bars and snacks to the hip belt pockets and the lunch to the under the hood pocket. Makes everything easily accessible 🙂

      The Osprey is an awesome rucksack. Very light, very comfortable and I have even hauled 20 Kg loads with it up some Welsh Mountains with no problem. I don’t think there is a single feature about it that I don’t like! 🙂

  2. Pingback: 2013 – A Year in Review | Uk Backpacker

Leave a Reply

