Fuizion!

The freeze dried food for my next walk has arrived. Normally I use Mountain House who deliver some pretty good meals. However, over the last year and a half I have been around their menu several times, which has resulted in me looking elsewhere for this walk.

I have tried several other manufacturers foods, which can be viewed at: https://ukbackpacker.wordpress.com/2013/08/24/freeze-dried/

However, after getting good recommendations from various people I decided to go with Fuizion Freeze Dried Foods.

Normally when I’m out and about I eat double-sized Mountain House meals, so I decided to order enough Fuizion meals to allow me to eat two a day on the walk and have two left over for home testing 🙂

The order arrived in a day and a half which was surprisingly quick.

Freeze dried food for my Dartmoor walk has arrived!

Freeze dried food for my Dartmoor walk has arrived!

Having now tried two of them, I’m now wondering whether I actually need two a day. It’s always hard to tell as one hasn’t been walking all day when eating at home, so it is very hard to gauge whether one pack a day will be enough. I suspect that in the event, I will take all of them, as they don’t weigh much and provide additional options when in the field.

The first thing I noticed with the packages is that they are very long and narrow. Right away I could see this causing problems for my spork as that eating utensil is quite short. In some ways I wished the packages were wide and short, as this makes them much easier to eat without getting ones fingers covered in food.

My spork has a height inferiority complex...

My spork has a height inferiority complex…

The second thing I noticed about the packages is that they have no obvious tear strip. I tried forcing the top open by hand, but this proved impossible so I ended up using a pair of scissors from my hiking first aid kit. These are perfect for the job.

The Fuizion packages have no pre-cut tear-line so scissors have too be deployed. Luckily the first aid kit I carry around has a good pair included with it!

The Fuizion packages have no pre-cut tear-line so scissors have too be deployed. Luckily the first aid kit I carry around has a good pair included with it!

On opening the package – in this case Kung Po Chicken – I was very surprised at the size of the ingredients. That and the fact that I could actually identify them! Most freeze dried meals have ingredients that have been pummelled into such small sizes that they are almost impossible to make out!

The contents of the Kung Po chicken prior to rehydration.

The contents of the Kung Po chicken prior to rehydration.

I also noticed that all the packs took exactly the same amount of water to reconstitute – 310 ml. So all I will need is one mark on the inside of the JetBoil to make sure I’m using the appropriate amount. This is important as freeze dried foods are very sensitive to the amount of water one uses.

In fact this was something that did catch me out with the Mountain House meals on first use. Their meals take varying amounts of water and on the second day of my first big walk, I accidently flooded one of my meals with way too much water, thinking that it required the same amount as the meal from the previous day!

As with most freeze dried meals, the Fuizion one’s reconstitute in around 10 minutes or so. The result of the Kung Po Chicken can be seen below:

The reconstituted Kung Po chicken!

The reconstituted Kung Po chicken!

Once again I was impressed. Even reconstituted one can see full sized real ingredients. I knew at this point that I was in for a good meal!

Up close on the fork the results are even more impressive as seen below. I could not believe I was eating from a freeze dried meal!

A close up of the Kung Po chicken after reconstitution.

A close up of the Kung Po chicken after reconstitution.

The tall and narrow shape of the packaging meant that I found it difficult getting the food out, even with a full sized fork. However, this issue was soon resolved by once again deploying the first aid scissors.

It was such a refreshing change eating from a freeze dried meal and being able to identify and taste the ingredients I was eating. Even the meat came in large sizes to!

I've tried a lot of freeze dried foods, but the Fuizion ones are the first I've come across with real meat pieces of this size!

I’ve tried a lot of freeze dried foods, but the Fuizion ones are the first I’ve come across with real meat pieces of this size!

Ok, so the million dollar question, what does it taste like?

For me, the answer is awesome! The flavours are strong without being artificial or salty.

Fuizion have really excelled themselves with the quality of their food and I highly recommend them. It remains to be seen whether one pack will suffice for me per day, but I will only find that out next week.

Finally, at last, I now have a great alternative to Mountain House! Wooot!

If anyone is interested in ordering Fuizion foods, their website can be found at: http://www.fuizionfreezedriedfood.com/

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fuizion!

  1. dknwhy says:

    Alpkit do long handle titanium spoons and forks which are ideal for freeze dried meals. They’re pretty cheap too.

  2. I do enjoy reading about your preparation and testing of everything as much as your actual adventures!

    • RobP says:

      The preparation can be good fun. I don’t know if I do too much of it, but I like to set off on a walk with a comfortable feeling that I have everything I need 🙂

  3. John says:

    I really enjoy your blog Rob, thank you for sharing your adventures. Planning a trip and preparing for it are all an enjoyable part of an adventure. I have many planned walks documented with waypoints and routes all saved as gpx files, which can give you differing options when the weather doesn’t want to agree with your plans. Fuizion meals are by far the best I have tried. Backpackinglight also do a long titanium spoon similar to alpkit. I use a insulating pouch and place the Fuizion bag inside, which makes it easy to handle the hot meal and keeps it warm longer when its chilly. I also use my firstaid scissors to open the Fuizion meals and I place the insulating pouch and rehydrating meal into my sleeping bag whilst it stands which keeps it very hot and warms the sleeping bag too.

    • RobP says:

      We use a similar technique for keeping the food warm too. I wrap it in a towel and eat from there, but whilst it is reconstituting it goes straight in the sleeping bag 🙂

Leave a Reply

