Nearly ready to go!

Enough Freeze Dried food for 5 days out in the wilds :D

Enough Freeze Dried food for 5 days out in the wilds ๐Ÿ˜€

The freeze dried food finally arrived, though in the tradition of a true courier company it actually arrived 5 doors down at one of my neighbours – even though I was in. I often wonder what the point of a courier company is? I always thought that the whole reason for their existence was to provide a guaranteed and speedy delivery? One that is better than the traditional post office?

Anyways, despite the delivery mishap, I’m now a happy bunny. I finally have everything I need to make the next walk a goer!

In hand with the food delivery I have also created a new 5 day journey plan that is now a large circular route that both starts and ends at LLanfairfechan. This is in contrast with the original that went from LLanfairfechan to Blaenau Festiniog.

In accordance with my new planning practices, the route is actually a 4 day route, plus a spare day. I have only allocated 5 km for the spare day, which provides a good bit of schedule slack. This way if any unforeseen events crop up, I should still make it to my destination on day 5.

Looking at the route planner’s routes folder, it seems that I have managed to get up to 5 different routes before finally settling on this one.

That’s the problem with a place like Snowdonia, there is so much to see that it is practically impossible to get it all in on a particular route. Even nearby sites of interest sometimes have to remain unvisited due to the practicalities of elevation conservation.

My biggest concern over the delay caused by the late arrival of the food, apart from the wasted holiday, is that the new proposed dates are almost at the same time of year as my first major walk’s dates last year on Dartmoor.

Why is this a concern?

The reason why this is a concern is that I spent the first two evenings of last year’s walk right in the middle of the flying ant season. If these ants stick to a timetable, there is every chance that once again I will be accosted by them!

The only thing left to do now is to update my paper maps and book holiday from work. If work can release me at short notice, the walk could take place as soon as next weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Food, Multi-Day Walk, Snowdonia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

