The Best Laid Plans…

Mustering the auxiliary food - the stuff that keeps me going whilst on the move.

Mustering the auxiliary food – the stuff that keeps me going whilst on the move.

Ok, I’ll be the first to admit, the title is a little bit misleading…

For the next walk I had done the detailed route planning, had ordered plenty of auxiliary food as I would now be eating lunches, and had also bought the gas I would require for the stove.

As an added bonus, I even considered the fact that dusk would be a lot earlier and invested in a proper hiking head lamp!

So what could possibly go wrong?!

Food.

Yup – the freeze dried food that I had ordered has still not arrived. It was due on Tuesday, but it didn’t arrive. But no problems I thought. I would leave later on Wednesday then do the end part of the first leg at night. Perfect for testing the new lamp out.

However, Wednesday rolled by and still no food. At this point I decided to draft up a new shorter walking route ready for departure on Friday.

Thursday has rolled by and guess what? Still no food…

At this point I decided to call it a day.

It was all quite frustrating; Taking holiday specifically for a walk, but finding myself having to mope around the flat awaiting the food package that never arrived. I couldn’t even take a lie in or two as the Post Office sometimes delivers early. Pretty much a wasted week :/

I know with hindsight and better planning I could have ordered the food earlier, but alas had neglected to do so, resulting in the consequence that I have had to pull a walk.

There is a silver lining though. The extra time gave me the opportunity to really pick apart my planned route. It was during this examination I did find a potential flaw….

Part of the route would take me over the Tryfan Mountain complex via the North ridge. However, with my newly found spare time I did some research and even watched some u-tube videos and have since come to the conclusion that climbing it with a large rucksack would be asking for trouble. It may potentially be viable, but looking at the various gaps some of the climbers had to get through I’m not sure how much of a practical proposition it would have been.

It’s a shame as I really want to do Tryfan – and ultimately will do it. I just don’t think it is practical to include it in a multi-day walk. That said, if anyone has done it as part of a multi-day walk then I’ll be very interested in hearing from you!

Tomorrow, I’ll take my original planned route and figure out a way Southward around Tryfan, then assuming my food does actually arrive in the next few days, I’ll put in for holiday at the earliest opportunity.

In the meantime I will have to try and ignore my withdrawal symptoms!

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best Laid Plans…

  1. That stinks! The second time is a charm!

  2. RobP says:

    Just received the food – got to wait until Monday to get some holiday booked!

Leave a Reply

