Ready for the Lake District!

Kit Mustered and Correct for 4 days in the wilds of the Lake District!

Kit Mustered and Correct for 4 days in the wilds of the Lake District!

My kit has now all been checked out and I’m ready for 4 days of adventure in the Lake District.

A lot of new kit is being used for the first time, so I’m a little worried whether it will all work well.

The pack weight is amongst the lightest I have ever carried – 14.1Kg, which for a 4 day walk is unheard of for me! It seems my weight saving measures have been very effective.

I’m hoping the new rucksack will be comfortable, though I am already liking its new features, like the hip belt pockets for stowing ready to eat food!

Also, for a first, I will be using a gas stove. Theoretically I should be able to get by on one gas canister, but having never used it before, I don’t want to get caught short, so I’m bringing a spare for in case.

I should be back late Tuesday! Have a good weekend folks!

The Osprey Exos rucksack just swallows all my kit. The load is a super light 14.1 Kg!!!!! Which for a four day journey is unheard of for me! Plus it includes some extras like an iPod and ebook reader. Looks like my weight saving measures have paid off!

The Osprey Exos rucksack just swallows all my kit. The load is a super light 14.1 Kg!!!!! Which for a four day journey is unheard of for me! Plus it includes some extras like an iPod and ebook reader. Looks like my weight saving measures have paid off!

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Kit, Lake District and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ready for the Lake District!

  1. lee970 says:

    Hello there. Just wanted to say I ink your blogs are awesome. Really enjoyed reading your adventures on Dartmoor! Fantastic and extremely inspiring. Think about getting back into hiking, as I only live 40 miles away from Dartmoor. When I was younger used to do Ten tors, and done some military training on the moors with the Army Cadets and TA. Needless to say it’s been a while since I was out there, but really keen on getting back into the saddle and partaking in some solo adventures myself. I think a few day walks just to get used to the barren landscape that is Dartmoor are a must, since it’s been so long. But anyhow keep up the good work sir, and happy hiking.

  2. Pingback: 2013 – A Year in Review | Uk Backpacker

Leave a Reply

