November 2012 – Brecon Beacons 45km 2 day solo walk – Day 1

The whole of the 45km route I walked over two days!

The whole of the 45km route I walked over two days!

I have finally nearly caught up with last year’s back-log of walks for this blog. There is only one more after this one so I’m nearly there!

The plan is to release Day 2 later on this week, just prior to my departing to Wales once more for three days in Snowdonia!

This walk was completely centred around climbing Pen Y Fan, the highest hill in the Brecon Beacons at 886 mtrs elevation. It currently represents my highest hill climb to date, though if things go to plan next weekend, I should beat it! 🙂

As usual, here are a few photos from my Facebook Walking journal detailing this trip!

The kit I took up with me on my 2 day Brecon's walk! This was one of my lightest loads, weighing in at only around 14 kg's!

The kit I took up with me on my 2 day Brecon’s walk! This was one of my lightest loads, weighing in at only around 14 kg’s!

Day 1's route. I walked 21.4 km with 841 mtrs of elevation gained and 246 mtrs of elevation lost.

Day 1’s route. I walked 21.4 km with 841 mtrs of elevation gained and 246 mtrs of elevation lost.

The elevation profile. This walk was all about climbing Pen Y Fan the highest hill in the Brecons. This is my highest record hill climb to date at 886 mtrs - that is until next week (June 2013), as I plan to hike up Mount Snowdon in Wales! :)

The elevation profile. This walk was all about climbing Pen Y Fan the highest hill in the Brecons. This is my highest record hill climb to date at 886 mtrs – that is until next week (June 2013), as I plan to hike up Mount Snowdon in Wales! 🙂

Having been spoilt by the wilderness of Dartmoor earlier in that year (2012), I was acutely aware that this journey seemed to be a follow-that-trail journey, which in some ways I felt detracted from it.

Having been spoilt by the wilderness of Dartmoor earlier in that year (2012), I was acutely aware that this journey seemed to be a follow-that-trail journey, which in some ways I felt detracted from it.

The view over Pontsticill Reservoir. In the centre in the background I could see the peak on Pen Y Fan looming...

The view over Pontsticill Reservoir. In the centre in the background I could see the peak on Pen Y Fan looming…

I loved the architecture of this lake pump house!

I loved the architecture of this lake pump house!

I'm still on paths, but at least they are now a little rougher! The surrounding scenery did more than make up for the path walking. And once again Pen Y Fan's peak puts in an appearance...

I’m still on paths, but at least they are now a little rougher! The surrounding scenery did more than make up for the path walking. And once again Pen Y Fan’s peak puts in an appearance…

The view over the Pentwyn Reservoir! I just loved the autumnal colours of the trees here.

The view over the Pentwyn Reservoir! I just loved the autumnal colours of the trees here.

By this stage of the walk, things were getting muddy and the tracks were looking more like the tracks that I'm used to!

By this stage of the walk, things were getting muddy and the tracks were looking more like the tracks that I’m used to!

A view of the lower Neuadd Reservoir, looking Northward. Once again in the far distance on the left, Pen Y Fan's peak makes an appearance!

A view of the lower Neuadd Reservoir, looking Northward. Once again in the far distance on the left, Pen Y Fan’s peak makes an appearance!

It's kind of weird walking across these type of dams. I'm used to the all stone ones that feel more like a bridge crossing!

It’s kind of weird walking across these type of dams. I’m used to the all stone ones that feel more like a bridge crossing!

The hill climb 'proper' has started, even though most of the trip has in fact been up hill!

The hill climb ‘proper’ has started, even though most of the trip has in fact been up hill!

A view to the West down onto the Upper Neuadd Reservoir!

A view to the West down onto the Upper Neuadd Reservoir!

That peak up ahead is Bwlch ar y Fan - and yes I will be going up there!

That peak up ahead is Bwlch ar y Fan – and yes I will be going up there!

This is the view Northward, looking down at some of the elevation I have gained. I now need to hang a left Westward and start my climb up to Pen Y Fan.

This is the view Northward, looking down at some of the elevation I have gained. I now need to hang a left Westward and start my climb up to Pen Y Fan.

The view East toward Fan y Big. I felt seen off, as I appeared to be the only person climbing with a large rucksack - I guess nobody else was intending to camp up top!

The view East toward Fan y Big. I felt seen off, as I appeared to be the only person climbing with a large rucksack – I guess nobody else was intending to camp up top!

Nearly there to the first peak!

Nearly there to the first peak!

Having a quick breather on the way up!

Having a quick breather on the way up!

We are starting to come on the level with Fan y Big to the East. This apparently puts me up at around 719 metres!

We are starting to come on the level with Fan y Big to the East. This apparently puts me up at around 719 metres!

To the South the Upper Neuadd Reservoir has fallen quite a ways below me!

To the South the Upper Neuadd Reservoir has fallen quite a ways below me!

To the NorthWest are the peaks of Pen Y Fan on the left and Crybn on the right. Although the walk up to Crybn is easy from here, I have to abandon it as I am running out of time before the sun sets. This was down to arriving in Merthyr Tydfil over 3 hours late thanks to some public transport issues...

To the NorthWest are the peaks of Pen Y Fan on the left and Crybn on the right. Although the walk up to Crybn is easy from here, I have to abandon it as I am running out of time before the sun sets. This was down to arriving in Merthyr Tydfil over 3 hours late thanks to some public transport issues…

The gorgeous view Northward!

The gorgeous view Northward!

I now start the climb on Pen Y Fan. It has a great stone track which makes ascent a lot easier than it would have been. However, as can be seen here, it is quite steep!

I now start the climb on Pen Y Fan. It has a great stone track which makes ascent a lot easier than it would have been. However, as can be seen here, it is quite steep!

The sun starts to go down. I figured if I continued I would be in a position of having to make camp in the dark. So instead, I look for a spot to make camp...

The sun starts to go down. I figured if I continued I would be in a position of having to make camp in the dark. So instead, I look for a spot to make camp…

And this is my camping spot! Right on the edge of a ridge line! Great view from up here though!

And this is my camping spot! Right on the edge of a ridge line! Great view from up here though!

The view Northwards over the Akto tent.

The view Northwards over the Akto tent.

The view out of the tent as I wait for the water to boil!

The view out of the tent as I wait for the water to boil!

A beautiful sunset over the Akto tent! It's occasions like these that really make multi-day walking worthwhile!

A beautiful sunset over the Akto tent! It’s occasions like these that really make multi-day walking worthwhile!

And tonight's supper is Chicken Curry - my favourite!

And tonight’s supper is Chicken Curry – my favourite!

As the sun went down these two cyclists stopped off for a chat. They had apparently carried their bikes all the way to the top, just so that they could enjoy the ride downwards! Absolutely mad in my book! :)

As the sun went down these two cyclists stopped off for a chat. They had apparently carried their bikes all the way to the top, just so that they could enjoy the ride downwards! Absolutely mad in my book! 🙂

The sky presents a brilliant sunset light show!

The sky presents a brilliant sunset light show!

Camping near the peak of Pen Y Fan!

Camping near the peak of Pen Y Fan!

Just gorgeous! The one memory I do have of this walk was getting up in the middle of the night to empty my bladder, only to be presented with the best view of the Milky Way I had ever seen! What's more it seemed to touch down behind Pen Y Fan's peak, in effect silhouetting it. That image will be with me forever!

Just gorgeous! The one memory I do have of this walk was getting up in the middle of the night to empty my bladder, only to be presented with the best view of the Milky Way I had ever seen! What’s more it seemed to touch down behind Pen Y Fan’s peak, in effect silhouetting it. That image will be with me forever!

The overnight camp spot, right on the edge of a ridge-line!

The overnight camp spot, right on the edge of a ridge-line!

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Brecon Beacons, Camping, Hiking, Multi-Day Walk, Pen Y Fan, Rab and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to November 2012 – Brecon Beacons 45km 2 day solo walk – Day 1

  1. craig says:

    Hey rob just want to say looked through your page and its awesome, inspiring and shows some great routes, i love the little notes like the bikers stopping off for a chat, thats amazing. kind regards craig coates

  2. Matthew gration says:

    Hi rob . Love the photos . I’m doing this in June 2 days rough camping . Just wondered if you had day 2 avaliable to view .
    Thank you
    Matt

    • RobP says:

      Hi Matt, Day 2 is there. There are links at the top and bottom of the post to the next day. The other way is to scroll down and select the Brecon Beacons filter on the right hand side.

  3. Steven T lee says:

    Great route! Can I ask where you parked please? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

