May 2013 – North Dartmoor Solo Walk – Day 2

Day 2's walk. 15.8km with 502 mtrs ascent and 467 mtrs descent!

Day 2’s walk. 15.8km with 502 mtrs ascent and 467 mtrs descent!

Day 2 of the walk was my favourite. It was all cross country with nary a trail in site! To be blessed by such good weather, especially considering how much rain the UK has been getting, was very fortunate.

Here are some photo’s from my walking journal showing Day 2’s journey:

In the morning of Day 2 I'm greeted by a heard of cows headed Northward!

In the morning of Day 2 I’m greeted by a heard of cows headed Northward!

Part 1 of my breakfast - A nice fruit porridge and a cup of coffee!

Part 1 of my breakfast – A nice fruit porridge and a cup of coffee!

Breakfast part 2 - Bacon Rolls! Delicious - just wish I had a means of storing rolls that didn't result in them getting squashed!

Breakfast part 2 – Bacon Rolls! Delicious – just wish I had a means of storing rolls that didn’t result in them getting squashed!

It's still quite cold in the morning hence the down jacket! Above me on the tent is the sleeping bag airing out.

It’s still quite cold in the morning hence the down jacket! Above me on the tent is the sleeping bag airing out.

The first order of the day is to climb Great Kneeset Hill!

The first order of the day is to climb Great Kneeset Hill!

I reach the top of Great Kneeset. The terrain here is a mixture of bogs and grass tussocks. The flat bits of ground shown above are actually deep mud...

I reach the top of Great Kneeset. The terrain here is a mixture of bogs and grass tussocks. The flat bits of ground shown above are actually deep mud…

These plants are called Dead Mans Fingers. I avoid them on the moor as it is usually a sign of deep bog...

These plants are called Dead Mans Fingers. I avoid them on the moor as it is usually a sign of deep bog…

After a bit of walking I find myself at the bottom of Fur Tor. Time to Climb!

After a bit of walking I find myself at the bottom of Fur Tor. Time to Climb!

The climb towards the end gets quite steep....

The climb towards the end gets quite steep….

The view from the top of Fur Tor is excellent!

The view from the top of Fur Tor is excellent!

For some reason this rock amused me - yes I have a warped imagination!

For some reason this rock amused me – yes I have a warped imagination!

A final look Northward. The lack of features does make it difficult to judge scale properly.

A final look Northward. The lack of features does make it difficult to judge scale properly.

The signature rocks of Fur Tor.

The signature rocks of Fur Tor.

Headed to Cut Hill!

Headed to Cut Hill!

Compass out to determine the route Southward!

Compass out to determine the route Southward!

The route Southward consists of bogs and islands of grass tussocks. Makes for very tiring walking and leaping!

The route Southward consists of bogs and islands of grass tussocks. Makes for very tiring walking and leaping!

Beardown Man Standing Stone - This is the furtherest South I will be going.

Beardown Man Standing Stone – This is the furtherest South I will be going.

Rough Tor - Once again the Army kit completely spoils the view...

Rough Tor – Once again the Army kit completely spoils the view…

Handrailing a wall Eastward. However it stops way short of what is indicated on the map, leading to some impromptu compass navigation...

Handrailing a wall Eastward. However it stops way short of what is indicated on the map, leading to some impromptu compass navigation…

To the South I see horses drinking. I'm a little wary of my water sources after some hikers I bumped into told me they had seen three dead horses in a stream...

To the South I see horses drinking. I’m a little wary of my water sources after some hikers I bumped into told me they had seen three dead horses in a stream…

Heading North Westward to find the River Dart!

Heading North-ish to find the River Dart!

On my way to the River Dart I spot two enclosures to the North, I don't know what they are, but for some reason I'm hearing X-Files music in my head :)

On my way to the River Dart I spot two enclosures to the North, I don’t know what they are, but for some reason I’m hearing X-Files music in my head 🙂

Every now and then my judgement of bog depth fails me...

Every now and then my judgement of bog depth fails me…

The River Dart in all its glory!

The River Dart in all its glory!

A quick self photo whilst climbing the hill up to Winney's Down. Note, that I still haven't found a good place to stow my compass!

A quick self photo whilst climbing the hill up to Winney’s Down. Note, that I still haven’t found a good place to stow my compass!

Statt's House with curious Sheep! The house is very small and I wonder what it must have been like to live in such cramped and isolated conditions?

Statt’s House with curious Sheep! The house is very small and I wonder what it must have been like to live in such cramped and isolated conditions?

I close in on Day 2's planned camp spot. As one can see, with the absence of trails, practically all navigation is compass based on set bearings.

I close in on Day 2’s planned camp spot. As one can see, with the absence of trails, practically all navigation is compass based on set bearings.

I find a great spot. It's a little boggy, but it is close to a stream!

I find a great spot. It’s a little boggy, but it is close to a stream!

And up goes the Hilleberg Akto Tent!

And up goes the Hilleberg Akto Tent!

I start getting out the Trangia Stove. I'm very wary about using it with so much dried grass around, so clear the area as much as I can and have some water on stand-by...

I start getting out the Trangia Stove. I’m very wary about using it with so much dried grass around, so clear the area as much as I can and have some water on stand-by…

And today's main meal will be a curry - once it is reconstituted!

And today’s main meal will be a curry – once it is reconstituted!

Boiling the water, whilst keeping an eye on the stove. Luckily the Trangia's windshield keeps the flame well away from the grasses.

Boiling the water, whilst keeping an eye on the stove. Luckily the Trangia’s windshield keeps the flame well away from the grasses.

Supper is up - one chicken curry! Again, another delicious Mountain House meal.

Supper is up – one chicken curry! Again, another delicious Mountain House meal.

The sun starts to go down on Day 2 - time to get some shut-eye!

The sun starts to go down on Day 2 – time to get some shut-eye!

Time for Bed. This night would get very cold - cold enough that my 4 Season Sleeping bag actually felt comfortable, rather than too hot!

Time for Bed. This night would get very cold – cold enough that my 4 Season Sleeping bag actually felt comfortable, rather than too hot!

Day 2's camp spot!

Day 2’s camp spot!

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Camping, Dartmoor, Hiking, Multi-Day Walk, Navigation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to May 2013 – North Dartmoor Solo Walk – Day 2

  1. cn65 says:

    That’s great that you’re hiking and backpacking, Rob. Please practice Leave No Trace principles on your journeys !

    • RobP says:

      I always follow a leave no trace policy. It’s one of the reasons I never light any fires and use a Trangia Stove. I intend to publish an article about this in the future as it is a very important topic!

  2. Pingback: 2013 – A Year in Review | Uk Backpacker

Leave a Reply

