September 2012 – Dartmoor solo 4.5 day walk – Day 5

The final day is a short one. Just a 5.76km jaunt to the pick up point with most of that down hill. The reason for the diversion East was for a final top up of water from a stream.

The final day is a short one. Just a 5.76km jaunt to the pick up point with most of that down hill. The reason for the diversion East was for a final top up of water from a stream.

This is the final day of the walk. There isn’t much to do on this day other than await my pickup later on in the day at Burrator Reservoir by my brother.

It was a day of a balmy hot sun and a nice relaxing chill out on the Tor as I read the book I had taken with me. It felt quite weird not having to break camp immediately – it was almost like I was doing something wrong by just staying on one place for so long.

Here are a few photos from the final day:

A grand morning on Sheep's Tor. My brother will be picking me up at 1645 at the dam. As a result I have most of the day to just chill out in the sun and read a book!

A grand morning on Sheep’s Tor. My brother will be picking me up at 1645 at the dam. As a result I have most of the day to just chill out in the sun and read a book!

The view into Burrator Reservoir from further East on Sheep's Tor.

The view into Burrator Reservoir from further East on Sheep’s Tor.

Over to the East toward Hator Tor that I had climbed yesterday I spot a balloon travelling over the moor. I guess that's one way to get around!

Over to the East toward Hator Tor that I had climbed yesterday I spot a balloon travelling over the moor. I guess that’s one way to get around!

The Akto tent drying off its condensation in the morning sun.

The Akto tent drying off its condensation in the morning sun.

Eating breakfast and wondering what to do with the rest of my day. Some daddy-long-leg flies are sunbathing on the tent to dry themselves off before flight.

Eating breakfast and wondering what to do with the rest of my day. Some daddy-long-leg flies are sunbathing on the tent to dry themselves off before flight.

The view from my tent on Sheep's Tor. The sun is now so strong that staying in the tent is the best option!

The view from my tent on Sheep’s Tor. The sun is now so strong that staying in the tent is the best option!

The sleeping bag is put out for the final time to air. It also serves as a sunshield by keeping the worst of the heat off of the tent.

The sleeping bag is put out for the final time to air. It also serves as a sunshield by keeping the worst of the heat off of the tent.

To the North East is Leather Tor - one day I will have to visit it! :)

To the North East is Leather Tor – one day I will have to visit it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Before heading to the pickup point I walk Eastward to the corner of the forest I visited the previous day to get some water.

Before heading to the pickup point I walk Eastward to the corner of the forest I visited the previous day to get some water.

It seems that even the horses are suffering in the heat. I many respects I was glad I wasn't walking any distance on this day.

It seems that even the horses are suffering in the heat. I many respects I was glad I wasn’t walking any distance on this day.

I'm now headed toward the reservoir itself. In the distance is Leather Tor.

I’m now headed toward the reservoir itself. In the distance is Leather Tor.

The water in the reservoir looks good enough to swim in! :)

The water in the reservoir looks good enough to swim in! ๐Ÿ™‚

Here I'm on the Dam crossing Burrator reservoir. The water is glassy smooth.

Here I’m on the Dam crossing Burrator reservoir. The water is glassy smooth.

The Dam itself. It was here that I waited for my brother to pick me up. I was hoping to see some water flowing down the dam - but alas - it wasn't to be!

The Dam itself. It was here that I waited for my brother to pick me up. I was hoping to see some water flowing down the dam – but alas – it wasn’t to be!

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Camping, Dartmoor, Multi-Day Walk and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

