Ready for North Dartmoor 2013!!!

Final kit muster before my 3 day jaunt tomorrow! (click for larger image)

Final kit muster before my 3 day jaunt tomorrow! (click for larger image)

I have now checked my kit out, mustered it and packed it.

My walks never quite seem to be real up until the point that the packing starts – it is then that it starts turning from a pencil route on a map into the real thing.

I’m glad I checked the kit out. It appears I had placed the Trangia cap on whilst it was a little bit warm resulting in the inner seal sticking. It took a few tools and quite a lot of effort to free it. This is a critical piece of kit – without it there are no hot meals or drinks. It looks like it is still serviceable though – so I’m bringing it with me!

Having not done a multi-day trip in the spring before, I’m not too sure what kit to pack. So for this journey I play safe and pack my winter kit. I figure that if I get too hot I could always unzip stuff, but to go on the moor with my summer kit and to find that inadequate would certainly cause problems. I guess I’ll learn from the experience of this trip whether the 4 season sleeping bag is overkill or not.

As always I am now suffering from pre-walk excitement and wondering whether I have forgotten anything! Only time will tell. I will see you all later on next week with a report on my latest walk! Until then…

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Camping, Dartmoor, Kit, Multi-Day Walk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ready for North Dartmoor 2013!!!

  1. Pingback: 2013 – A Year in Review | Uk Backpacker

Leave a Reply

