September 2012 – Dartmoor solo 4.5 day walk – Day 2

Day 2's solo journey of 14.2km with 363 mtrs going up and 523 mtrs going down!

Day 2’s solo journey of 14.2km with 363 mtrs going up and 523 mtrs going down!

Day 2 of the walk consisted of a mostly downhill jaunt down towards the Belever Forest. My original plan was to camp out on the Tor there, but this is prohibited as it is one of the few Tors owned by the Forestry Commission. In the end I decided to wild camp alongside the River Dart by the Belever Forest.

Here are a few photos from my Facebook Journal detailing some of Day 2’s walk:

Good Morning from Day 2 on Dartmoor. Condensation can be seen on the tent from the cold night. It looks like I got quite a tan from the previous day :)

Good Morning from Day 2 on Dartmoor. Condensation can be seen on the tent from the cold night. It looks like I got quite a tan from the previous day 🙂

Getting the breakfast on using my Trangia 27 stove during the early morning of Day 2.

Getting the breakfast on using my Trangia 27 stove during the early morning of Day 2.

Sunrise from my Day 1 camp location. In a matter of around an hour this whole area got covered in thick ground fog. Luckily for me I had already dialled in the next bearing to take on my compass whilst I could still see!

Sunrise from my Day 1 camp location. In a matter of around an hour this whole area got covered in thick ground fog. Luckily for me I had already dialled in the next bearing to take on my compass whilst I could still see!

This is my first ever latrine! It is very hard to see - unlike the animal waste...

This is my first ever latrine! It is very hard to see – unlike the animal waste…

The first task for Day 2 is to climb the hill leading up to Watern Tor.

The first task for Day 2 is to climb the hill leading up to Watern Tor.

I climb up the hill from my Day 1 camp spot to reach Watern Tor.

I climb up the hill from my Day 1 camp spot to reach Watern Tor.

A close up of part of Watern Tor. I just love the way the rock appears to have cooled in layers - or at least that's what it looks like to my untrained eye!

A close up of part of Watern Tor. I just love the way the rock appears to have cooled in layers – or at least that’s what it looks like to my untrained eye!

This was taken from Watern Tor (545 mtrs elevation) looking to the South - here one can see cloud covering the lower areas of the moor and just flowing over a ridge line. I was mesmerised by this view.

This was taken from Watern Tor (545 mtrs elevation) looking to the South – here one can see cloud covering the lower areas of the moor and just flowing over a ridge line. I was mesmerised by this view.

Walking across country in the Northern Moor with no trails is very tough. The differences in height between the grass tussocks and the ground between can be a knee length. This makes for a very jarring walk.

Walking across country in the Northern Moor with no trails is very tough. The differences in height between the grass tussocks and the ground between can be a knee length. This makes for a very jarring walk.

Headed South East cross country towards the Fernworthy Forest and an old clapper bridge!

Headed South East cross country towards the Fernworthy Forest and an old clapper bridge!

This is the view to the North East whilst I'm on the ridgeline. Fernworthy Reservoir can just be made out a little past the woods.

This is the view to the North East whilst I’m on the ridgeline. Fernworthy Reservoir can just be made out a little past the woods.

I know I'm headed the right way so I continue down hill to the South East. I'm now in the ruin of a Farm called Teignhead Farm - what a lovely isolated place!

I know I’m headed the right way so I continue down hill to the South East. I’m now in the ruin of a Farm called Teignhead Farm – what a lovely isolated place!

The view North up the North Teign River!

The view North up the North Teign River!

An example of an old clapper bridge crossing the North Teign River by the Fernworthy Forest.

An example of an old clapper bridge crossing the North Teign River by the Fernworthy Forest.

The view back towards the way I came. Here we can see the ruins of a very old Farm -1800's I believe - called Teignhead Farm.

The view back towards the way I came. Here we can see the ruins of a very old Farm -1800’s I believe – called Teignhead Farm.

The Double Stone Circle known as 'The Grey Wethers Stone Circles' - apparently restored! That's the best part of Dartmoor, discovering these really old signs of human presence.

The Double Stone Circle known as ‘The Grey Wethers Stone Circles’ – apparently restored! That’s the best part of Dartmoor, discovering these really old signs of human presence.

This part of the route is pretty much downhill headed Southward down this valley. It should take me to the village of Postbridge.

This part of the route is pretty much downhill headed Southward down this valley. It should take me to the village of Postbridge.

A zoomed in shot of Belever Tor. This should have been my day 2 camp spot, but alas it is owned by the Forestry Commission who ban Wild Camping. As a result I camp on the other side of the River Dart by the Belever Forest as that part is officially Dartmoor National Trust.

A zoomed in shot of Belever Tor. This should have been my day 2 camp spot, but alas it is owned by the Forestry Commission who ban Wild Camping. As a result I camp on the other side of the River Dart by the Belever Forest as that part is officially Dartmoor National Trust.

Some sections of the route South were very boggy. This stretch ahead of me had some of the deepest bog of the walk.

Some sections of the route South were very boggy. This stretch ahead of me had some of the deepest bog of the walk.

Camped out by the River Dart alongside the Belever Forest and once again the flying ants are back resulting in the inner tent having to remain closed!

Camped out by the River Dart alongside the Belever Forest and once again the flying ants are back resulting in the inner tent having to remain closed!

And day 2's main meal is potato, salmon and dill!

And day 2’s main meal is potato, salmon and dill!

My day 2 camp spot by the Bellever Forest and River Dart!

My day 2 camp spot by the Bellever Forest and River Dart!

Laters

RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Camping, Dartmoor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September 2012 – Dartmoor solo 4.5 day walk – Day 2

  1. girlycamping says:

    Looks fun! I could go without flying ants though! 🙂 Rob, I noticed you don’t have “follow” buttons on your home page or individual posts. Did you know that? If you aren’t sure how to do that you go to your dashboard from the admin side you click on appearance then widgets. From there, drag the “follow blog” button to the right side of your screen so it adds to your side bar. That’s how I did mine. Just thought you may want to expand on your reader-base 🙂 Happy Camping!!

Leave a Reply

