July 2012 – A solo 37.53km practice day walk!

This walk represents one of my longest walks in one day – not the longest though, as that currently stands at a shade under 45km!

It was done to help bring my fitness up and to get used to using some of the kit I would be using for my up and coming 4.5 day walk on Dartmoor for that year.

As usual I’ll let the photos do the talking!

The 37.53km route from Ashton Court to Bristol Airport. Red is planned, blue is actual.

The 37.53km route from Ashton Court to Bristol Airport. Red is planned, blue is actual.

This walk could best be described as 'muddy'!

This walk could best be described as ‘muddy’!

The local Bristol Reservoirs from my hill top view point!

The local Bristol Reservoirs from my hill top view point!

Stinging Nettles everywhere and a locked gate, just to add to the fun!

Stinging Nettles everywhere and a locked gate, just to add to the fun!

Sat by the reservoir enjoying a spot of lunch.

Sat by the reservoir enjoying a spot of lunch.

And today's lunch is Macaroni Cheese - very delicious!

And today’s lunch is Macaroni Cheese – very delicious!

An electrified gate from the other side. From the way I came I didn't see the insulator, so just grabbed the gate...

An electrified gate from the other side. From the way I came I didn’t see the insulator, so just grabbed the gate…

Somebody should have gone to spec-savers :)

Somebody should have gone to spec-savers ๐Ÿ™‚

A rather stunning wood sculpture I spotted on my walk!

A rather stunning wood sculpture I spotted on my walk!

A bird of prey doing its thing!

A bird of prey doing its thing!

The walk took me right past the end of Bristol Airport's main runway!

The walk took me right past the end of Bristol Airport’s main runway!

As a result the aircraft got VERY low!

As a result the aircraft got VERY low!

The thistles in this field made for a prickly experience!

The thistles in this field made for a prickly experience!

I found this house isolated right in the centre of a large wood. Now that's my kind of house!

I found this house isolated right in the centre of a large wood. Now that’s my kind of house!

Who to believe? Luckily I knew where I was due to the map I was carrying. As it turns out, the marker pen location is the correct one...

Who to believe? Luckily I knew where I was due to the map I was carrying. As it turns out, the marker pen location is the correct one…

Bristol Airport in the fading light. This marked the end of my long journey.

Bristol Airport in the fading light. This marked the end of my long journey.

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Day Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

