Back from my 68km solo Black Mountains walk!

Just got back from my walk in the Black Mountains. That walk certainly lived up to being an adventure! I’ll let the photos do the talking! These are just a select few from the 100’s I took for my Facebook Journal. Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

This is my overall 68 km route. The red line is planned, the blue is actual. At the end of day 2 I had to leave the mountain ridges as it was getting too dangerous due to the very high gusting winds - I got knocked off my feet twice.

This is my overall 68 km route. The red line is planned, the blue is actual. At the end of day 2 I had to leave the mountain ridges as it was getting too dangerous due to the very high gusting winds – I got knocked off my feet twice.

Heading towards the Eastern Black mountains. Visibility on the hills was v poor. Had to frequently refer to my compass to make sure I was going the right way!

Heading towards the Eastern Black mountains. Visibility on the hills was v poor. Had to frequently refer to my compass to make sure I was going the right way!

There are Cairns, and then there are CAIRNS!

There are Cairns, and then there are CAIRNS!

The first night's camp on the peak of Bal-Mawr at around 607 mtrs. Again visibility was v.poor!

The first night’s camp on the peak of Bal-Mawr at around 607 mtrs. Again visibility was v.poor!

In order to have the space to carry 4 days worth of food I use freeze dried meals. They take up little space, weigh very little, are easy to make and there is no washing up! Plus they taste yum! The photo above shows before hydration on the left and after hydration on the right. Trust me it tastes much better than it looks!

In order to have the space to carry 4 days worth of food I use freeze dried meals. They take up little space, weigh very little, are easy to make and there is no washing up! Plus they taste yum! The photo above shows before hydration on the left and after hydration on the right. Trust me it tastes much better than it looks!

A typical problem. Water just kept freezing! Even topping up a bottle from a stream would result it in icing up in just a mere 30 mins or so. Did I say it was cold? :)

A typical problem. Water just kept freezing! Even topping up a bottle from a stream would result in it icing up in just a mere 30 mins or so. Did I say it was cold? ๐Ÿ™‚

Kitted out at the beginning of day 2 on the Eastern Black Mountain ridges. Winds were extremely strong and it was very cold. So cold, that all my water bottles froze :(

Kitted out at the beginning of day 2 on the Eastern Black Mountain ridges. Winds were extremely strong and it was very cold. So cold, that all my water bottles froze ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Proceeding along the Eastern Black Mountains ridge line. The fog and ice certainly made it picturesque, just wish I could have seen more!

Proceeding along the Eastern Black Mountains ridge line. The fog and ice certainly made it picturesque, just wish I could have seen more!

Still following the ridge-line!

Still following the ridge-line!

I spot a Cairn in the distance! Woot I now know where I am!

I spot a Cairn in the distance! Woot I now know where I am!

Here I have put in a bearing that should take me cross country through the fog to Rhos Dirion's peak at 713 mtrs. The fog meant that my compass got used a lot! :p

Here I have put in a bearing that should take me cross country through the fog to Rhos Dirion’s peak at 713 mtrs. The fog meant that my compass got used a lot! :p

Compass Skills +1 :) Right on target as the Trig Point for Rhos Dirion hoves into view!

Compass Skills +1 ๐Ÿ™‚ Right on target as the Trig Point for Rhos Dirion hoves into view!

Here I got knocked off my feet twice by the very strong gusting winds. Given my proximity to the edge, I decided it was too dangerous to continue on the ridge line and tried to fight my way down hill to the safety of the valleys!

Here I got knocked off my feet twice by the very strong gusting winds. Given my proximity to the edge, I decided it was too dangerous to continue on the ridge line and tried to fight my way down hill to the safety of the valleys!

The view from my tent on day 3. In the very far distance one can see the peaks of the Black Mountains!

The view from my tent on day 3. In the very far distance one can see the peaks of the Black Mountains!

Day 3's camp spot. This photo shows just how small my solo Akto tent is! That said I wouldn't swap it for the world!

Day 3’s camp spot. This photo shows just how small my solo Akto tent is! That said I wouldn’t swap it for the world!

Off and ready for my assault on Sugar Loaf at the start of day 4.

Off and ready for my assault on Sugar Loaf at the start of day 4.

Horses in the snow! I wonder how they keep warm? Their coats don't look thick enough...

Horses in the snow! I wonder how they keep warm? Their coats don’t look thick enough…

Following a track around the bottom of Sugar Loaf!

Following a track around the bottom of Sugar Loaf!

After much frantic scrambling and crawling to prevent the wind knocking me over, I find this path near the top of Sugar Loaf that is protected from the driving winds! Woot!

After much frantic scrambling and crawling to prevent the wind knocking me over, I find this path near the top of Sugar Loaf that is protected from the driving winds! Woot!

At Sugar Loaf's peak! Although only a shy short of 600 mtrs, it took real effort to get up here due to the very strong winds. Strong enough that when gusting, I couldn't move!

At Sugar Loaf’s peak! Although only a shy short of 600 mtrs, it took real effort to get up here due to the very strong winds. Strong enough that when gusting, I couldn’t move!

The top of Sugar Loaf!

The top of Sugar Loaf!

An eyeball on Abergavenny! The end of my journey!

An eyeball on Abergavenny! The end of my journey!

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Brecon Beacons, Camping, Hiking, Multi-Day Walk, The Black Mountains, Wild Camping and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back from my 68km solo Black Mountains walk!

  1. Pingback: Destination Dartmoor! | Uk Backpacker

  2. Pingback: 2013 – A Year in Review | Uk Backpacker

  3. Pingback: Blown Out! | Uk Backpacker

Leave a Reply

