Off to the Black Mountains for a four day solo walk!

Tomorrow I start my 4 day adventure in the Black Mountains. I have been there before, but this time I’m exploring the Eastern half. This is the first time I have been out in Winter conditions. To that end, I have a lot of new Winter kit on trial to see if my jaunt across the mountains remain comfortable.

Kit mustered and correct! Ready for the final packup!

Kit mustered and correct! Ready for the final packup!

As with every trip I do, I always muster the kit to make sure everything is there. The last thing you want to do is be on the mountains only to realise you have forgotten a vital piece of kit!

Just checking the tent out to make sure I still have everything!

Just checking the tent out to make sure I still have everything!

In addition to the kit muster, I have also been checking out my kit to make sure that all the parts are there and that they are all serviceable. In the above photo I’m checking the Akto tent out.

The Trangia kettle holds 550ml of water - the exact amount required to re-hydrate the Mountain-House Main meals that I will be carrying. The puddings require only 200ml of water, so I have engraved a mark on the inside of the kettle to show me my fill point!

The Trangia kettle holds 550ml of water – the exact amount required to re-hydrate the Mountain-House Main meals that I will be carrying. The puddings require only 200ml of water, so I have engraved a mark on the inside of the kettle to show me my fill point!

Other preps involve checking how much water each of my dehydrated meals will require. Luckily on this trip there are only two measures needed: 550ml and 200ml. 550ml is covered off, in that by coincidence, my Trangia Kettle holds exactly this amount. For the 200ml measurement I have scribed some marks on the inside of my kettle to show me how much to use. This is important as Freeze Dried meals are very sensitive to the amount of water you put in them.

Kit now packed up! Rucksack weighs in at 17kg not including waterproof jacket or fleece.

Kit now packed up! Rucksack weighs in at 17kg not including waterproof jacket or fleece.

Finally I’m all packed up and ready to go. Pack weighs in at around 17kg which is very similar to the loads I took to the Black Mountains West side and my Dartmoor trips last year. In theory, apart from the extra weight of a wet tent, the overall pack weight should decrease over the four days as fuel and food are used.

Speaking of fuel I decided to take my 1 Ltr Trangia bottle, even though theoretically, with frugal use, I could have got away with the 500ml bottle. I figured that with the expected weather (bad overall), I didn’t want to be constrained in terms of making hot drinks between meals.

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Kit, The Black Mountains. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Off to the Black Mountains for a four day solo walk!

  1. girlycamping says:

    You look all ready to go!! Have fun! Can’t wait to see pictures!

  2. RobP says:

    Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ Just got back and put a few up. I tend to take hundreds of pictures as I like to write photo journals detailing the whole trip so that I can reminisce later. Hopefully the few here still tell a story! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: 2013 – A Year in Review | Uk Backpacker

  4. place says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about backpacking. Regards

Leave a Reply

