The Dirty Half-Dozen!

The core winter kit I will be taking into the Eastern Black Mountains

The core winter kit I will be taking into the Eastern Black Mountains

Today I have been getting my kit together to check that it all fits in my 60/75 ltr rucksack and that it is all still serviceable. I was initially concerned that the much enlarged size of the 4 season sleeping bag and the fact that I would also be carrying a down jacket would cause problems in terms of rucksack space. Luckily – and with a sigh of relief – it all just about fits!

The picture above shows the kit that forms the core-stay-alive kit that I will be carrying. From left to right and top to bottom it’s:

  • Travel Tap bio filter and water bottle
  • RAB Neutrino 600 Endurance 4 season bag
  • Thermarest mattress
  • Hilleberg Akto Solo tent
  • Trangia Field Kitchen
  • RAB Neutrino Pro Down Jacket

Things are looking good for next week’s solo 4 day walk in the Eastern Black Mountains. Just waiting on the dehydrated food which should be arriving today!

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Kit, The Black Mountains. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

