Good to Go!

I finally have my mitts on the two critical pieces of winter kit that I’m going to need for my Black Mountains hike.

One is a 4 season sleeping bag, which I will need in a few weeks time as my 3 season sleeping bag was struggling at -5 degrees C last time I was out.

The new 4 season sleeping bag on the left - a RAB Neutrino Endurance 600. It looks quite similar in size to my 3 season bag - but looks can be deceiving!

The new 4 season sleeping bag on the left – a RAB Neutrino Endurance 600. It looks quite similar in size to my 3 season bag – but looks can be deceiving!

This picture nicely illustrates the difference in bulk between the 3 season and 4 season sleeping bags - despite their similar outward appearances!

This picture nicely illustrates the difference in bulk between the 3 season and 4 season sleeping bags – despite their similar outward appearances!

The 4 season sleeping bag in its stuff sack. Even compressed it's noticeably bigger than the 3 season bag.

The 4 season sleeping bag in its stuff sack. Even compressed it’s noticeably bigger than the 3 season bag.

The other item of winter kit (and a first for me) is a Down Jacket. These are jackets filled with Goose Down and constructed using similar techniques to sleeping bags. The end result is a jacket that is exceedingly warm, but also very light and very compressible for stowage in a rucksack. This will be used when I’m camped up at the end of the day to help retain body warmth. This is always critical in camp as one is generally not moving much, so the body is not producing the heat required to stay alive in very cold temperatures.

These items, along with my new boots – which actually seem to be partially broken in at the cost of only one blister – mean that I can now tackle my next multi-day walk in a few weeks time with confidence.

Down jacket arrived too. I'm going to need this once I'm in camp to retain body warmth. This one is a RAB Neutrino Plus jacket and is built using the same construction techniques as down sleeping bags. This means that it is exceptionally warm, very lightweight and compresses into a nice small stuff sack!

Down jacket arrived too. I’m going to need this once I’m in camp to retain body warmth. This one is a RAB Neutrino Plus jacket and is built using the same construction techniques as down sleeping bags. This means that it is exceptionally warm, very lightweight and compresses into a nice small stuff sack!

I will post more about my other walks last year including the epic 4.5 day Dartmoor walk, but it’s finding the time! ๐Ÿ™‚

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Kit, The Black Mountains. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

