New Boots!

Scarpa Activ-SL's on the right will be replacing my trusty worn out Salamon boots on the left!

Scarpa Activ-SL’s on the right will be replacing my trusty worn out Salamon boots on the left!

Just been fitted with my new pair of boots, ready for my first walk this year in early March. They are a lot sturdier but alas, a lot heavier than my Salamons, but they are crampon compatible which I will need later on during the year.

My Salamon Quest boots were pretty good boots, but the Km’s I put in last year finally broke them. They were always comfortable and never needed breaking in. The only downside with them is that they leaked a lot and were lethally slippery in the wet or in mud. Hopefully my new Scarpa’s will be a little more grippier.

Of course the big downside of new boots, especially leather one’s like these, is that they are going to have to be broken in, which I’m sure is going to lead me to picking up a few heal based blisters. So for the moment I’m wearing them practically every second of the day in the hope they will at least be partially broken in for my 60km exploration on the Eastern Black Mountains.

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Kit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

