Welcome to my new Blog!

Over the last year I have taken up the hobby of backpacking. Of course I didn’t just jump into it right away as I had no equipment and I was a veritable couch potato!

I started with lunchtime walks of a few km, then branched out to single day walks of around 20-25km. After this I slowly increased the length of my walks, as well as the number of days they took. This slow progression gave me the time I needed to build up skills, confidence and equipment.

This blog will detail all the walks I have done and provide some advice based on the experience I have picked up. I will also be carrying out some kit reviews to tell you all what worked for me and what didn’t.

Due to the lack of space on this blog, I will only be providing highlights of each walk here – though I do have full photographic journals of each walk on my Facebook profile.

Hopefully this blog will encourage more people to be active. I started at 44 years old, so if I can do it, then you can!

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

