Initial Kit (April 2012)

Kit

The only hiking kit I had to my name!

The photo above represents all the hiking kit I owned* when I first started. It’s not much, but it was enough to get me started on the lunchtime walks and just enough to enable me to practice hiking around Ashton Court.

The boots are a pair of Gortex Salamon boots which have proved to be very comfortable and lightweight. Though as I was to discover later on, they were slightly too small for me. Although comfortable for normal strolls, I found that when hiking cross country some of my toe nails would get heavily bruised – a good sign that the toe box of the boot is not big enough. When I do eventually get to upgrade these I will make sure I get a pair with ample room for my little digits!

These boots have on the whole performed very well on my walks and have always been comfortable, but alas after a few months of use they lost their water-tightness even when they were treated.

The Karrimor Airspace 25 rucksack genuinely surprised me. It was bought as a rucksack for use when going to work. Yet it has many features that in the event would put it in good stead for hiking, including a hip belt and chest strap, a H2O port and even a rain cover! As a result I have never had a reason to replace this rucksack for day hiking use!

The underlying message of this blog post, is that if you want to start walking, don’t keep putting it off because you don’t have the kit! Just get out there and do it! But do it in a safe environment until you develop your skills!

Laters
RobP

*Doesn’t include my retired trusty Karrimor Panther Rucksack! πŸ™‚

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Kit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

