An afternoon walk around Ashton Court (April 2012)

The main manor at Ashton Court

The main manor at Ashton Court

This walk was my first walk during a weekend and was also the first walk I undertook with a small rucksack and some food. The food in this case consisted of a bottle of juice, a Cornish pasty and an Apple!

I had no map of the place but I knew that the grounds were fully enclosed by walls, which meant that I could randomly explore without fear of getting truly lost. The walk lasted for around 3 to 4 hours and despite the cold was very enjoyable.

Ashton Court is a great proving ground. It got me used to walking in areas that I was unfamiliar with – this in itself helped reinforce confidence and self belief – very important attributes when one is solo walking. The grounds also provided exposure to a variety of terrain types including woods and steep muddy hills – all within the safe environment of the Court’s enclosure.

Below are some photos from the walk:

The view into Bristol from my lunch spot.

The view into Bristol from my lunch spot.

A Sculpture

This was a sculpture I spotted by one of the Deer pens.

A photo of some of the Deer at Ashton Court

A photo of some of the Deer at Ashton Court

A Living Gatehouse

What impressed me with this old gatehouse was that it was actually being used by a family as an abode!

Olde Tree

Trees like this provide backpackers with good reasons to check what trees they are about to camp under….

Laters
RobP

About RobP

Got into backpacking in the spring of 2012. I started as a couch potato then made my way through walker, hiker and now backpacker! As you can see from below I have far too many hobbies! :)
This entry was posted in Ashton Court, Day Walk and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

